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This is a complete set of rules superseding all previous local rules.

In addition to these local rules, Lassen Superior Court enforces all applicable state statutes
and the California Rules of Court.

Notice: A full set of the local rules may be purchased at the Hall of Justice or downloaded online
at www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.
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RULE OF COURT NO. 1

LAW AND MOTION DEPARTMENT RULES

A. DATES FOR LAW AND MOTION HEARINGS.

Annually by October 1, each department of the Superior Court shall publish a schedule
for the succeeding year’s law and motion hearing dates by posting on the court’s website,
www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov. Paper copies are available at the court filing office;
standard copy fees apply.

B. DEPARTMENT ASSIGNMENTS.

Counsel or a self-represented litigant may select a date for hearing any proposed matter,
in compliance with the statutory procedure applicable thereto, and set the matter in the
appropriate department of the court as follows:

(1) In Department 1

(a) Traffic & Misdemeanor Criminal Arraignments, Traffic & Criminal Law &
Motion, and Morning Clear Warrants;

(b) Misdemeanor Criminal Law and Motion matters, Disposition Conferences,
and Noticed Motion Hearings;

(c) Felony Criminal matters, other than those in which arise upon a crime alleged
to have been committed by an inmate in the custody of the Department of
Corrections, including: Felony Criminal Arraignments, Preliminary Hearings,
Felony Information, Disposition Conferences, and Jury Trials;

(d) Petition to Declare a Minor a Ward of the Court;
(e) Department 2 disqualification matters.
(2) In Department 2
(a) In Custody Arraignments and Afternoon Clear Warrants;
(i) In Custody Arraignments are to be heard on Mondays and
Wednesdays at 4:00 PM and Fridays at 1:00PM. If these days fall on
a holiday, the In Custody Arraignments will be heard on the next

court day at 4:00 PM. Tuesdays and Thursdays at 48:00 PAM are
reserved for In Custody Arraignments that were not heard on a

Local Rules of Court
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Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

Monday, Wednesday, or Friday due to time restraints in filing of the
Complaints.

Court Trials under the Traffic Code;
Small Claims;
Unlawful Detainer;

Civil Action with a prayer exceeding Thirty-five Thousand Dollars,
($35,000) or otherwise is a case not described in Code of Civil Procedure §
86;

Civil Action with a prayer of Thirty-five Thousand Dollars ($35,000) or less,
or otherwise is a case described in Code of Civil Procedure section 86;

Actions under the Probate Code;

Actions under the Family Code ;

Juvenile Dependency and Juvenile Traffic matters;

Petition for Writ of Prohibition, or Mandamus;

All Actions for Domestic Violence Temporary Restraining Orders;
Adoptions;

Civil Harassment Petitions;

All ex parte applications in any case described in items (a) through (m)
above. All ex parte applications shall comply with California Rules of Court
3.1200 et seq. and shall include LSC-FL-120, Declaration Regarding Ex
Parte Notice;

Department 1 disqualification matters.

(3) In Department3

()

Rev. 17/1/254

Upon assignment by the Temporary Assigned Judges Program, any
proceeding that has been assigned to a visiting judge for all purposes, as
directed by that judge;

Local Rules of Court
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(b) Upon assignment by the Temporary Assigned Judges Program, any
proceeding that has been assigned to a visiting judge for all purposes due to a
disqualification or recusal.

(4) In Department S

(a) Criminal case involving an allegation of a crime committed by an inmate in
the custody of the Department of Corrections.

(5) In Department 6
(a) Civil Case Management Conferences and Settlement Conferences.
(6) In Department 7

(a)  Actions under the Family Code wherein issues of child or spousal support or
health insurance maintenance are brought by the Department of Child
Support Services;

(b) Writs of Habeaus Corpus.
C. COURTROOM DECORUM AND ATTIRE.

Counsel and self-represented litigants shall observe customary professional courtesy and
decorum in presentations to the bench, including standing when addressing argument to
the bench, addressing the judicial officer as “Your Honor” or “Judge”, being respectful
and courteous to attorneys, court staff, law enforcement officials and litigants.

Court proceedings may include a court reporter. It is imperative that the court record is
precise. Unless you are a party to the action and it is your turn to speak, silence is
required. Disruptive behavior will not be tolerated. Cell phones must be turned OFF or
SILENT.

The following attire and items are considered inappropriate in the courtroom and are not
allowed while court is in session. Individuals not adhering to this rule will not be allowed
to enter the courtroom.

e Sunglasses, hats, bandanas, or other non-religious head coverings

e See-through/sheer clothing of any kind or clothing revealing midriffs or under
clothing

e Shorts, cut-offs, costumes, face-paint

¢ (Clothing with emblems or depictions of violence, profanity, drugs, sexual acts, or that
are disrespectful to the judicial process

e Bare feet

Local Rules of Court
Rev.17/1/254 www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov 7



Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

e Recording devices or electronic equipment of any kind without prior permission from
the court
e Food, drinks, gum, tobacco

All counsel shall comply with Business and Professions Code § 6068(b) and with respect
thereto follow a dress code at all scheduled appearances as follows:

1) All counsel shall wear appropriate business attire which may include tie, suit,
or sport coat and slacks, and footwear.

D. SHORT AND LONG CAUSE HEARINGS.

Any matter coming on a law and motion calendar that will, in the opinion of either
counsel or self-represented litigants, require more than ten minutes to be heard will be
heard as a setting for a long-cause hearing. Counsel or self-represented litigants shall
notify the court and opposing parties in writing at the time of filing his or her pleadings
that the hearing will necessitate more than ten minutes for hearing, and request a long-
cause setting. Such matters shall be called on the regular law and motion calendar for the
sole purpose of setting at that time a date and time for the long-cause hearing. Upon
stipulation of all counsel and self-represented litigants that a long-cause hearing be set,
the parties may forego the setting appearance and instead supply the court in writing with
available dates for the long-cause hearing.

E. TIME LIMITS ON PRELIMINARY HEARINGS.

Any preliminary hearing that will, in the opinion of either counsel or self-represented
defendants, require more than 30 minutes to be heard will be heard as a setting for a long-
cause hearing.

F. FILING OF NOTICES OF UNAVAILABILITY.

The court may accept for filing a “Notice of Unavailability of Counsel”; however, such
notice is not binding on the court and shall have no effect as it relates to the court’s
calendar. If the court does accept the “Notice of Unavailability of Counsel”, such notice
must be filed in each case by court case number in which case the notice is expected to

apply.
G. CIVIL MOTION PROCEDURE.

The California Rules of Court and provisions of the Code of Civil Procedure relating to
law and motion matters will strictly be observed. Evidence at a law and motion hearing
shall be by affidavit or declaration under penalty of perjury (Rule 3.1306.) The time for
filing a motion, response, and reply will be observed (CCP §1005(b): 16 court days; 9
court days; and 5 court days), and the clerk shall mark any late-filed document with an
appropriate stamp so indicating. The court will consider on a case specific basis whether

Local Rules of Court
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to refuse to consider a late-filed paper, and imposition of sanctions for any party
disobeying this requirement without good cause.

H. EXHIBITS AS ATTACHMENTS TO DOCUMENTS.

Exhibits presented to the court as attachments to documents require an exhibit divider
with a cover sheet behind the divider stating the exhibit number and the title of the
document the exhibit is attached to. All exhibits submitted to the court by parties must
reflect the correct designation of parties such as Plaintiff/Petitioner/People exhibits are
numbered designations, Defendant/Respondent/Cross Defendant exhibits are alphabetical
designations.

I. CIVIL REPORTING.

The services of an official court reporter are normally available in the Felony and
Juvenile departments only. An official court reporter is not normally available in the
Civil, Misdemeanor, and Traffic departments. As used in this rule and in Government
Code section 68086, "Civil case" includes all matters other than criminal and juvenile
matters.

Each Litigant desiring court reporting services shall, at least five (5) court days prior to
the date initially scheduled for the proceeding, file a written statement requesting a court
reporter, and pay the fee for the court reporting services, if applicable. The litigant
requesting reporting services must make the request by completing LSC-CIV-100,
Statement Requesting Presence of a Court Reporter, and pay the fee, if applicable, with
the clerk of the court at least five (5) court days prior to the date initially scheduled for
the proceeding. Absent a Statement Requesting Presence of a Court Reporter being filed
with the court in accordance with the procedure stated above, the services of an official
court reporter will be available in the Felony and Juvenile departments only, regardless of
the ruling in Jameson v. Desta.

A party has the right to arrange, at the party’s own expense, the services of a court
reporter if the services of an official court reporter are not available for a proceeding

(Local Rule of Court No. 16).
J. FAMILY LAW SUPPORT CALCULATIONS.

All parties shall submit with any motion, response, or reply pertaining to support issues, a
support calculation prepared on software approved by Judicial Council.

K. FAMILY LAW ORDERS TO SHOW CAUSE RE CONTEMPT.

In family law cases in which there is filed an Order to Show Cause re Contempt on child
support issues and both parties are unrepresented by counsel, the court will not appoint
counsel to represent the party charged with contempt. Further, the parties are hereby

Local Rules of Court
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advised that in all such proceedings the parties will be given a fair opportunity to present
and dispute relevant information and that inability to pay support is a defense to the
contempt charge.

L. FAMILY-CENTERED CASE RESOLUTION PROCESS.

(1) AUTHORITY. This rule is intended to implement a family-centered case resolution
process in conformance with Family Code sections 2450, 2451, and California
Rules of Court, rule 5.83.

(2) APPLICABILITY. This rule applies to all dissolution, legal separation, nullity,
parentage, child custody and support, and grandparent cases filed after January 1,
2013.

(3) STATUS CONFERENCE.

(a) The court will issue a Notice of Status Conference and calendar the
conference within 180 days after the filing of the petition.

(b) The purpose of the status conference is to assess the case early and assist the
litigants with creating a case management plan for resolution of all of the
issues presented in their cases. The design of the case management plan will
depend on the complexity of the case.

(o) On request of either party or on the court’s own motion, the court may set
any matter for a status conference.

(4) ATTENDANCE AT STATUS CONFERENCE.

(a) All parties must attend the initial status conference. If the Department of
Child Support Services is a party to the case, their appearance is not required.

(b) Attorneys and self-represented parties shall attend each subsequent status
conference unless excused in advance by the court, the case has been
dismissed or a judgment resolving all issues has been entered.

(5 RECONCILIATION.

Parties who file a stipulation prior to the status conference indicating they are
attempting reconciliation will be exempt from the settlement conference for six (6)
months. If a judgment or dismissal is not filed within six (6) months of filing of the
petition, the court will proceed with a status conference upon notice to the parties.

(6) PRE-STATUS CONFERENCE REQUIREMENTS.

Local Rules of Court
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In dissolution and legal separation cases each party shall serve the other with
a Preliminary Declaration of Disclosure no later than ninety (90) days
following the service of the Petition for Dissolution or Legal Separation. The
Preliminary Declaration of Disclosure shall include a completed Income and
Expense Declaration, a completed Schedule of Assets and Debts, and any
other information that is required pursuant to Family Code section 2104. This
does not apply to summary dissolution matters as outlined in Family Code
section 2400.

A Family Law Case Management: Status Conference Statement (LSC-FL-
100) shall be filed and served on all other parties at least five (5) calendar
days before each case status conference.

(7) STATUS CONFERENCE AND COURT’S ROLE.

(@)

(b)

Rev. 17/1/254

At the status conference, the judicial officer will review the case to determine
whether it is progressing towards disposition in a timely and effective manner
in accordance with the milestones, disposition standards, and additional
factors set forth in California Rules of Court, rule 5.83. The judicial officer
may take action authorized by rule 5.83, including but not limited to setting
additional status conferences, setting a family-centered case resolution
conference, or scheduling the case for further review without appearances by
the parties.

Counsel must inform the court of the following matters:

(i) The attendance of both parties at Family Court Services mediation;

(ii) The service by both parties of a complete Preliminary Declaration of
Disclosure;

(iii) The filing with the court of a Declaration Regarding Service of
Declaration of Disclosure and Income and Expense Declaration;

(iv) The readiness of the parties to participate in mediation;
(v) The appropriateness of referral to arbitration;

(vi) The willingness of the parties to limit, schedule, or expedite
discovery, including the willingness to provide the opposing party,
without a discovery request: (a) the name, address, and telephone
number of each individual likely to have desirable information that
supports the party’s disclosures, and (b) a copy of, or a description
by category and location of, all documents, data compilations, and
tangible things that are in the possession, custody or control of the
party and that supports the party’s disclosures;

(vii) The appropriateness of implementation of a family-centered case
resolution plan pursuant to Family Code section 2451; and

Local Rules of Court
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(viii) The willingness of the parties to stipulate to the appointment of
court experts, and allocate the expert’s expense, or to schedule a
hearing for the appointment and expense allocation of court experts.

(©) At any status conference the court may:

1)

2

©))

@

Rev. 17/1/254

(i) Schedule disclosure of expert witnesses, by stipulation;

(ii) Inquire whether issues can be narrowed by stipulation and set dates
for the filing of stipulations;

(iii) Set dates for further status conferences, as needed, and no less often
than every six months;

(iv) Set dates for other events that must take place before the next status
conference;

(v) Set the date for trial and/or settlement conferences; and

(vi) Take such other action, as permitted by law, which could promote
the just and efficient disposition of the case.

FAMILY LAW TRIAL SETTINGS.

The party who has filed the At-Issue Memorandum shall serve and file at least
thirty (30) days prior to the first trial setting conference all of the following:

A completed Income and Expense Declaration, a current Property Declaration, one
for community property and one for separate property, if any, and a completed
Family Law Case Management: Settlement Conference Statement (LSC-FL-101).

If paragraph (1) is not fully complied with, the court will not set a date for trial at
the trial setting conference.

The party not filing the At-Issue Memorandum shall serve and file at least fifteen
(15) days prior to the first trial setting conference all of the following:

A completed Income and Expense Declaration, a current Property Declaration, one
for community property and one for separate property, if any, and a completed
Family Law Case Management: Status Conference Statement (LSC-FL-100), or
Family Law Case Management: Settlement Conference Statement (LSC-FL-101).

If the party not filing the At-Issue Memorandum fails to serve and file the
documents as required in paragraph (3), that party shall have been deemed to have
admitted all the relevant facts as set forth in the party filing the At-Issue
Memorandum documents as required in paragraph (1).

Local Rules of Court
www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov 12


https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-101.pdf

Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

(5) The parties shall comply with Family Code section 2105 pertaining to final
declarations of disclosure or mutual waiver as stated therein. The parties shall be
prepared at the first trial setting conference to state whether a final declaration of
disclosure will be mutually waived.

(6) The court may order the parties to update all or some of the documents listed in
paragraph (1) and/or paragraph (3) where substantial time has elapsed between the
filing of the documents and the trial date.

(7) Following the trial and the court’s decision on outstanding issues, the court will
designate one of the parties to prepare the final judgment within ten (10) days of
the decision of the court and submit the same for filing.

(8) In circumstances where a Family Law or Restraining Order case is being heard by a
Commissioner of the Court under direction of the Presiding Judge, the Court will
require the stipulation of parties for said Commissioner to act as temporary judge,
in accordance with Article 6, Section 21 of the Constitution of the State of
California. This consent is to be obtained via the filing by all parties of the case,
form LSC-FL-200, Consent for Court Assignment (Family Law) on the Court.

N. A Final Judgment and a Notice of Entry of Judgment shall be submitted with all Marital
Settlement Agreements, all Marital Termination Agreements, and all requests for default
judgments. If a Final judgment and a Notice of Entry of Judgment is not submitted with
the documents listed above, those documents will not be accepted by the court.

0. TIME FOR FILING MOTIONS (CRIMINAL) .

Except for motions to be heard at a felony preliminary examination, and unless otherwise
ordered or specifically provided by law, all moving papers in criminal cases shall include
a Memorandum of Points and Authorities and shall be served and filed at least ten (10)
court days before the time appointed for hearing. All papers opposing the motion shall be
filed and served at least five (5) court days before the time appointed for hearing, and all
reply papers shall be filed and served at least two (2) court days before the time appointed
for hearing. Proof of Service of the moving papers shall be filed no later than five (5)
court days before the time appointed for hearing. An original and one copy of all papers
are to be filed with the court.

Except on motions brought pursuant to the provisions of Penal Code section 1538.5 and
set for hearing at a felony preliminary examination, a party who has not timely served
and filed written opposition to a motion will not be permitted oral argument, absent a
court order.

Section Q of this rule provides the filing time requirements for motions brought at the

preliminary examination pursuant to Penal Code section 1538.5.
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P. MEMORANDUM OF POINTS AND AUTHORITIES (CRIMINAL)-.

A Memorandum of Points and Authorities must include a statement of the case and/or a
statement of facts setting forth any procedural or factual matters relevant to the issues
presented with page reference to any transcript, declaration, or other document to be
relied upon at the hearing. The memorandum must clearly specify the precise factual and
legal issues raised in the motion and the specific legal authority relied upon for the
motion. Absence of a Memorandum of Points and Authorities shall be deemed by the
court as an abandonment of the motion. No issues, factual or legal, other than those set
forth in the Memorandum of Points and Authorities will be considered in ruling on the
motion unless it is established the new issues were not reasonably discoverable before the
motion was filed.

In addition to the above requirements, Defendants shall attach a copy of the current
Complaint, Information, or Indictment to the Memorandum of Points and Authorities
supporting any Demurrer, Motion to Dismiss, or Motion to Strike. In addition, Demurrers
and Motions to Strike shall specify in the notice whether the Defendant seeks to dismiss
or strike the entire Complaint, Information, or Indictment. If Defendant does not seek to
dismiss or strike the entire Complaint, Information, or Indictment, Defendant shall set
forth in the Notice of Motion the counts, enhancements, allegations, special
circumstances, or other aspects of the Complaint, Information, or Indictment Defendant
seeks to dismiss or strike.

Q. MOTIONS UNDER SECTION 1538.5 OF THE PENAL CODE.

(1) Time for filing. A motion brought pursuant to section 1538.5 of the Penal Code
may be made at the preliminary examination only if at least five (5) court days
before the date set for the preliminary examination, the defendant has filed and
personally served on the people a written motion accompanied by a Memorandum
of Points and Authorities as required by paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Penal
Code section 1538.5. At the preliminary examination, the magistrate may grant the
Defendant a continuance for the purpose of filing the motion and serving the
motion upon the People, at least five (5) court days before resumption of the
examination, upon a showing that the Defendant or his or her attorney of record
was not aware of the evidence or was not aware of the grounds for suppression
before the preliminary examination. Any written response by the People to the
motion shall be filed with the court and personally served on the Defendant or his
or her attorney of record at least two (2) court days prior to the hearing at which the
motion is to be made. Proofs of Service must be filed by the date of the preliminary
examination. Motions not filed for consideration at a preliminary hearing must
comply with section O of this rule.

(2) List of items to be suppressed or returned. The moving party shall include a
complete itemized list of the specific items of property or other matters sought to
be suppressed or returned. A general request to suppress or return “all evidence
seized,” without greater specificity, is not sufficient and shall be deemed an
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abandonment of the motion. Only the items listed in the motion will be considered
by the court for suppression or return unless it is established the newly identified
item could not reasonably be identified before the motion was filed.

(3) Specification of factual and legal basis for motion. The moving party’s
Memorandum of Points and Authorities shall comply with the first paragraph of
section P of this rule and shall identify the specific legal and factual basis for
claiming the search or seizure to be defective.

(4) Copy of Search Warrant, Affidavit, and Inventory. If relevant to the motion,
legible copies of the Search Warrant, Affidavit in support of the warrant, and
Return and Inventory shall be appended to the moving papers.

(5) Failure to comply with the provisions of Penal Code section 1538.5(a)(2), or any
portion of this rule may constitute cause for denial of the motion.

When any party is unwilling to stipulate to the transcript of the preliminary
examination or grand jury hearing being received into evidence (supplemented by
other testimony and argument of counsel, as needed), that fact shall be stated on the
first page of the Notice of Motion or Response. Failure to so indicate shall be
deemed a stipulation to the admission of the transcript into evidence.

If the motion is based wholly or in part on the preliminary hearing, the moving
party’s Memorandum of Points and Authorities shall specify what factual findings
and legal conclusions were made by the magistrate.

R. DISCOVERY MOTIONS (CRIMINAL)-.

Upon a showing that the moving party has complied with the informal discovery
procedure under section 1054 et seq. of the Penal Code, the court may make any order
necessary to enforce the provisions outlined in section 1054 et seq. of the Penal Code. No
motion will be accepted for filing or set for hearing unless there is attached to the moving
papers a declaration by counsel, under penalty of perjury, setting forth the previous oral
and written efforts to obtain the discovery by cooperative and informal means, and
showing how the opposing party has not complied with section 1054.1 or 1054.3 of the
Penal Code. A discovery motion shall be limited to the actual disputed items or class of
items listed in the declaration.

S. TIME REQUIREMENTS FOR COUNSEL TO MEET WITH DEPARTMENT 5
(PRISON) DEFENDANTS.

In order to ensure effective assistance of counsel, the court directs all attorneys who are
appointed in Department 5 (Prison) cases to make best efforts to meet with their clients
no less than two (2) days prior to any hearing subsequent to the initial arraignment
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hearing. Any request for an exception to this rule shall be made to the judge scheduled to
preside at the hearing.

T. MISCELLANEOUS MOTIONS.

(1) All ex parte applications shall comply with California Rules of Court 3.1200 et
seq., with notice to parties by 10:00 a.m. on the day prior to the scheduled hearing
date and shall include LSC-FL-120, Declaration Regarding Ex Parte Notice.

(2) Any party intending to abandon a motion already filed shall immediately notify the
court and opposing counsel.

U. TRIAL READINESS — CRIMINAL.

The trial readiness conference in criminal matters shall be subject to the following
requirements:

e Trial Readiness Conferences in all departments are to be set twenty days prior to the
Jury Trial date.

e Jury Summons shall be mailed out 20 days prior upon confirmation of the Jury Trial.

e At the time of declaring ready for trial, all parties must be able to represent to the
Court that all subpoenas have been served on all necessary witnesses, all discovery
has been properly provided to all opposing counsel, all substantive motions have been
presented and heard by the Court, and the matter is ready to proceed to trial.

e Motions in limine will be heard on the day of trial unless the trial Judge has ordered
differently.

e Subject to any existing remote appearance authorization, trial counsel must be
personally present and the prosecuting attorney must have authority to dispose of the
case. The defendant must also be personally present notwithstanding any existing
remote appearance authorization.

e The declaration of counsel that the matter is ready for trial shall encompass all issues
necessary for the confirmation and commencement of trial on the date the trial is to
begin.

V. DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND GUN VIOLENCE RESTRAINING ORDER
PETITIONS.

Petitions seeking Domestic Violence Restraining Orders (DVRO) or Gun Violence
Restraining Orders (GVRO) and Responses to a petition for a Domestic Violence
Restraining Orders (DVRO) or Gun Violence Restraining Orders (GVRO) may be
submitted either:

(a) In-person;
(b) By mail;
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(c) By fax, following the procedures outlined in Rule 17; or,

(d) Electronically by following instructions provided on the Restraining Order
webpage on the Court’s website www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov, a link to this
webpage is to be prominently displayed on the homepage of the Court’s
website.

W.  CLERKS AUTHORITY TO GRANT INITIAL FEE WAIVER.

Pursuant to Government Code § 68634(d), the Court delegates the authority to grant
applications for an initial fee waiver that meet the standards of eligibility and application
requirements set forth in §§ 68632 and 68633 to the Clerk. In some cases, fee waiver
applications may be referred for judicial review and determination.

X. RELEASE ON NOTICE TO APPEAR.

(a) In County. When Clerks issue misdemeanor warrants for $5,000 and under, the
defendant shall be released on a Notice to Appear if they are contacted within

Lassen County.

(b) Out of County. When Clerks issue misdemeanor warrants for $15.000 and under,
the defendant shall be released on a Notice to Appear if they are contacted outside
of Lassen County.

Y. PRE-SENTENCE PROBATION INVESTIGATION/REPORTS MISDEMEANOR
REFERRAL CRITERIA.

No misdemeanor conviction shall be referred to the Lassen County Probation Department
for a pre-sentence investigation and report, unless the case and its circumstances meet
one or more of the following criteria:

(a) The crime is a sex offense.
(b) The crime is domestic violence.
(c) The crime is child abuse.

Exception to the foregoing may be ordered on a case-by-case basis by the Presiding
Judge on application of the trial judicial officer.

The Lassen County Probation Department shall adhere to this rule in providing pre-
sentence investigations and reports and return to the Clerk of the Court any referral made

in violation of this rule.

Z. PLEA IN ABSENTIA.
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A defendant, in cases where applicable, may enter a plea in absentia through counsel by
using Lassen Superior Court’s mandatory form, Plea in Absentia (LSC-CRIM-025).
Defendant and counsel are required to sign the form.

AA. DETERMINATION ON ABILITY TO PAY.

) A defendant may request a determination of ability to pay online through
MyCitations.Courts.CA.gov pursuant to CRC 4.335 or by written petition by filing
Judicial Council form TR-320 on the Court pursuant to CRC 4.335(c)(3).

@)(1) The Clerk of the Court, or his or her designee, will determine a defendant’s ability
to pay and apply a reduction on the outstanding balance using the following
criteria:

H(a) If defendant proves that defendant is currently receiving any of the following
public benefits: a. CalFresh (Food Stamps); b. Medi-Cal; c. General
Assistance/County Relief; d. Supplemental Security Income (SSI); e. State
Supplemental Payment (SSP); f. In Home Supportive Services (IHSS); g.
California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids Act (CalWORKS3s);
h. Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF); i. Cash Assistance
Program for Immigrants (CAPI), then the Clerk of the Court, or his or her
designee, will reduce the fines as is recommended by the MyCitations online
tool consistent with Court-established administrative settings for calculating
reduction rates.

@(b) If the defendant proves a current net monthly income that is less than or equal
to 250% of the Federal Poverty Level, then the Clerk of the Court, or his or
her designee, will reduce the fines as is recommended by the MyCitations
online tool consistent with Court-established administrative settings for
calculating reduction rates.

i The Clerk of the Court, of his or her designee, may grant a defendant’s
request for a payment plan, community service, and/or more time to pay the
balance.

h)(2)The defendant has the right to a review of the decision by a judicial officer in the
trial court if the Clerk of the Court, or his or her designee, denies the reduction
portion of the request.

(Effective 7/1/99, as amended: 1/1/13, 1/1/15, 1/1/16, 1/1/17, 7/1/18, 7/1/19, 7/1/22, 7/1/23,
1/1/24, 7/1/24, 1/1/25)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 2

TRIAL RULES

A. TRIAL READINESS.

Oy

2

3

“

S))

(6)

Motions In Limine should be made, to the extent practicable, on notice and heard
on a law and motion calendar prior to the date of trial. Such motions made on the
day of trial shall be served and filed prior to trial, be in writing, and have a
proposed order in writing.

All exhibits shall be pre-marked by prior arrangement with the trial clerk, and be
shown to opposing counsel prior to the opening of trial. Exhibits submitted for pre-
marking for trial must comply with the following instructions:

(a) Marking and logging exhibits. Each exhibit must be marked with an exhibit
tag or label.

(i) People, Plaintiff & Petitioner exhibits will be assigned numerical
designations.

(ii) Defendant & Respondent exhibits will be assigned alphabetical
designations.

(iii) If Cross-Plaintiffs or Cross-Defendants are involved or the case(s)
involve more than one Defendant, the court may direct an identifier
be used when a specific exhibit is not intended to apply to all
Plaintiffs or Defendants.

Counsel and self-represented litigants shall provide a written witness list to the
court prior to the opening of trial.

In a civil case, counsel and self-represented litigants shall provide a brief written
statement of the nature of the case to the court prior to the opening of trial.

Prior to the case being called for trial, counsel and self-represented litigants shall
meet and confer upon their respective exhibits and identify those to which no
objection will be made, those to which foundational objections are reserved, and
those to which objection is made. Counsel and self-represented litigants shall
jointly inform the court of the parties’ positions on such proposed exhibits.

Counsel and self-represented litigants shall meet and confer upon any matters likely
to be stipulated or uncontroverted, and reduce any agreements thereon to writing in
a form that can be read into the record if the matter is reported, or if not reported, in
a form adequate for filing.
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(7) No less than five (5) days prior to the date of commencement of trial, counsel and
self-represented litigants shall submit to the court proposed jury instructions in
completed written form. All proposed jury instructions must be submitted to the
court in the form and format prescribed by California Rules of Court 2.1055.

B. Counsel and self-represented litigants shall admonish clients and those witnesses under
their control to (1) refrain from any contact with any juror or prospective juror, and (2)
refrain from making gestures, grimaces, sighs, or exclamations during any in-court
proceeding.

C. Counsel and self-represented litigants shall question jurors and witnesses from the lectern
or counsel table and shall ask the court’s permission to approach a witness.

D. Counsel and self-represented litigants shall address all persons, other than child
witnesses, by surnames.

E. Objections, statements, and arguments (other than jury argument) are to be addressed to
the bench, not opposing counsel or self-represented litigants, and parties should stand
when addressing statements or argument to the bench.

F. Witnesses are ordered excluded from the courtroom, absent a stipulation of parties to the
contrary, and counsel and self-represented litigants shall monitor compliance with this
order throughout the trial. Designation of an investigating officer in a criminal case shall
be made on the record. Counsel and self-represented litigants shall admonish their
witness following his or her testimony to not discuss his or her testimony with any other
witness during the trial.

G. After a ruling by the court upon any objection, motion, or summary request, counsel and
self-represented litigants are to make no further argument on the matter. The remedy for
an incorrect ruling is appeal, not oratory. It is disruptive to the orderly conduct of a trial
to continue arguing after a ruling is made.

H. Counsel and self-represented litigants shall not engage in “speaking objections” unless
the same are specifically invited by the court. In jury trials, all such arguments shall be
made either at sidebar or in chambers. Counsel and self-represented litigants shall inform
the court at each sidebar or chambers conference if they wish the conference reported,
otherwise the reporter will not report the conference.

I. Should counsel or self-represented litigants discuss a case with a juror who is willing to
do so after conclusion of the trial, the parties shall keep in mind the duty to not disclose
to the juror evidence which was not admitted in the in-court proceedings. Counsel and
self-represented litigants shall be cautious to obtain the juror’s consent to talk about the
case prior to asking any questions and shall respect and maintain the confidentiality of
juror information.
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J. Any firearm exhibit immediately on being brought to court shall be placed in the
possession of the court’s bailiff for safety inspection and secure holding prior to court
convening. Any proposed firearm exhibit shall have affixed thereto a trigger-locking
device sufficient to disable the weapon from firing. Firearms shall be viewed with the
courtroom evidence display equipment.

K. All controlled substances or any item contaminated with blood or other biological residue
brought for exhibit purposes shall be enclosed in a sealed, clear plastic of a minimum
thickness of four mils. Any syringe shall have fitted to it a safety device enclosing the
needle thereof, and then be enclosed in sealed plastic as described above. Any blood
evidence shall be enclosed in an unbreakable clear container, which shall itself be
enclosed in sealed plastic as described above.

L. The courtrooms in the Lassen Superior Court Hall of Justice are equipped with evidence
display systems. The equipment is available for counsel and self-represented litigants to
use at trial, and consists of a document/object camera, DVD, VCR, and CD player.
Counsel and self-represented litigants are to submit requests and make arrangements with
court staff for use of the equipment at least five (5) court days prior to trial using the
Request/Notification for Courtroom Audio/Visual Presentation Equipment (LSC-MIS-
400) form.

M. SPECIAL RULE ON TRAFFIC (VEHICLE CODE) TRIALS.
(1) TRIAL BY DECLARATION.

(a) A Defendant may elect to have a trial by written declaration on an alleged
infraction not involving an accident pursuant to section 40902 of the Vehicle
Code.

(b) Based on the decisions, findings, and orders of the judicial officer, the clerk
will complete section 4 and section 5 of Judicial Council form TR-215,
Decision and Notice of Decision (Trial by Written Declaration).

N. COURT RECORDS MANAGEMENT AND ACCESS.

(1) Original court case records and exhibits. Only judicial officers and authorized
court personnel shall file, process, remove, replace, edit, mark, copy or destroy
original, official, court case records and exhibits. All public and other access to
such original records shall be permitted only under direct supervision of such
authorized court personnel; and only in accordance with California statutes, the
California Rules of Court, and the Rules of this Court.

(2) Copying and reproducing official court records. Only judicial officers and
authorized court personnel may photocopy or otherwise reproduce original, official,
court case records of exhibits. Any such copying or reproduction for public
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distribution shall be done only by or under the direct supervision of such authorized
personnel, subject to any established court charge for these services. Personal
photographing or other reproduction of original court records by the public is not
permitted. This rule does not apply to the printing or reproduction of documents
that may be posted or otherwise made available in electronic form on the court’s
website.

(Effective 7/1/99, as amended 1/1/13, 7/1/22, 1/1/23, 7/1/24)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 3

JUVENILE DEPENDENCY

A. TIME-LINES AND PROCEDURES. GOVERNING SETTLEMENTS,
MEDIATION, AND DISCOVERY PROTOCOL FOR CONTESTED MATTERS.

(1) Settlements. Upon the calendaring of a contested hearing, the court may set each
long-cause matter for a readiness conference as near the trial date as will most
efficiently utilize the resources of the court. In addition, if it is the opinion of the
court that a resolution is possible, the court shall also set the matter for a pre-trial
conference. The parties shall inform the court if they believe a disposition
conference would be productive.

(2) Mediation. At any time prior to dismissal if there are issues of custody and/or
visitation and there is no issue of risk of harm to the minor(s), the court may require
the parties to schedule and participate in mediation. Minor(s) six (6) years or older
must attend the mediation on direction of the mediator.

(3) Discovery Protocol. See California Rules of Court, rule 5.546.

B. GENERAL COMPETENCY REQUIREMENT OF COUNSEL WHO APPEAR IN
JUVENILE DEPENDENCY PROCEEDINGS.

All attorneys who appear in juvenile dependency proceedings must meet the minimum
standards of competence set forth in this rule and rule 5.660 of the California Rules of
Court. These rules apply to attorneys who represent public agencies, attorneys employed
by public agencies, and attorneys appointed by the court to represent any party in a
juvenile dependency proceeding.

C. PROCEDURES TO SCREEN, TRAIN, AND APPOINT ATTORNEYS
REPRESENTING PARTIES.

(1) Each attorney who represents parties in juvenile dependency proceedings shall
meet the minimum standards of training and/or experience set forth in these rules.
An attorney who appears in a dependency matter for the first time shall complete
and submit LSC-JVDP-100, Certificate of Competency to Practice in Juvenile
Dependency Court, to the court within ten (10) days of his or her first appearance
in a dependency matter.

(2) Attorneys who meet the minimum standards of training and/or experience as set
forth in these rules, as demonstrated by the information contained in the Certificate
of Competency submitted to the court, shall be deemed competent to practice
before the juvenile court in dependency cases except as provided in section C of
this rule.
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Upon submission of a Certificate of Competency, which demonstrates the attorney
has met the minimum standards for training and/or experience, the court may
determine, based on conduct or performance of counsel before the court in a
dependency case, that a particular attorney does not meet minimum competency
standards. In such cases, the court shall proceed as set forth in section D(4) wherein
an attorney fails to comply.

Any attorney who appears before the court in a dependency case who does not meet
the minimum standards of training or experience shall notify the court to that

effect. In such case, the court shall order, except in cases where a party is
represented by retained counsel, that certified counsel be substituted for the
attorney who does not possess the required training. In the case of retained counsel,
the party who has retained counsel shall file a written waiver with the court, stating
that they understand their counsel has failed to meet the minimum standards
required by these rules and they in fact waive their counsel’s failure to meet the
minimum standards required by these rules. The determination whether to obtain
substitute private counsel shall be solely within the discretion of the party.

In the case of an attorney who maintains his or her principal office outside of this
county, proof of certification by the juvenile court of the California county in
which the attorney maintains an office shall be sufficient evidence of competence
to appear in a juvenile proceeding in this county.

If the court determines it to be in the best interest of the minor, the court reserves
the right to allow an attorney to continue to represent parties in a juvenile
dependency proceeding if said attorney’s certificate of competency expires while
the appointment is active.

D. MINIMUM STANDARD OF EDUCATION AND TRAINING.

1)

Each attorney who appears in a dependency matter before the juvenile court shall
not seek certification of competency and shall not be certified by the court as
competent until the attorney has completed the following minimum training and
educational requirements. Prior to certification, the attorney shall have either:

(a) Participated in at least eight (8) hours of training or education in juvenile

dependency law, which training or education shall have included information
on the applicable case law and statutes, the rules of court, judicial council
forms, motions, trial techniques, and skills, writs and appeals, child
development, child abuse and neglect, family reunification and preservation;

OR

(b) At least six (6) months of experience in dependency proceedings in which the
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attorney has demonstrated competence in the attorney’s representation of his
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or her clients in said proceedings. In the determination of whether the
attorney has demonstrated competence, the court shall consider whether the
attorney’s performance has substantially complied with the requirements of
these rules.

(2) In order to retain certification to practice before the juvenile court, each attorney
who has been previously certified by the court shall submit a new Certificate of
Competency to the court on or before February 28 of the third year after the year in
which the attorney is first certified and then every third year thereafter. The
attorney shall attach to the renewal Certificate of Competency evidence that he or
she has completed at least eight (8) hours of continuing training or education
directly related to dependency proceedings since the attorney was last certified.
Evidence of completion of the required number of hours of training or education
may include a copy of a certificate of attendance issued by a California MCLE
provider; a certificate of attendance issued by a professional organization which
provides training and/or education for its members, whether or not it is an MCLE
provider; a copy of the training or educational program schedule together with
evidence of attendance at such program; or such other documentation as may
reasonably be considered to demonstrate the attorney’s attendance at such program.
Attendance at a court sponsored or approved program will also fulfill this
requirement.

(3) The attorney’s continuing training or education shall be in the areas set forth in
section C of this rule, or in other areas related to juvenile dependency practice
including, but not limited to, special education, mental health, health care,
immigration issues, the rules of evidence, adoption practice and parentage issues,
the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act, the Parental Kidnapping Prevention
Act, state and federal public assistance programs, the Indian Child Welfare Act,
client interviewing and counseling techniques, case investigation and settlement
negotiations, mediation, basic motion practice and the rules of civil procedure.

(4) When a certified attorney fails to submit evidence that he or she has completed at
least the minimum required training and education to the court by the due date, the
court shall notify the attorney that he or she will be decertified. That attorney shall
have 20 days from the date of mailing of the notice to submit evidence of his or her
completion of the required training or education. If the attorney fails to submit the
required evidence or fails to complete the required minimum hours of continuing
training or education, the court shall order, except in cases where a party is
represented by retained counsel, that certified counsel be substituted for the
attorney who fails to complete the required training. In the case of retained counsel,
the party who has retained counsel shall file a written waiver with the court, stating
that they understand their counsel has failed to meet the minimum standards
required by these rules and they in fact waive their counsel’s failure to meet the
standards required by these rules. The determination of whether to obtain substitute
counsel shall be solely within the discretion of the party.
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(5) The clerk of the court shall maintain a cumulative list of all attorneys who have
filed the required certification with the court, and annually shall notify the
presiding judge in writing of the attorneys whose three-year certification period
will expire in February of the current year.

E. PROCEDURES FOR THE REVIEW AND RESOLUTION OF COMPLAINTS BY
PARTIES REGARDING THE PERFORMANCE OF ATTORNEYS.

Complaints or questions by a party regarding representation shall be addressed as
follows:

(1) Complaints or questions shall initially be referred to any agency or law firm
appointed to represent the client.

(2) Ifthe issue remains unresolved, or if there is no designated agency or law firm, the
party may submit the complaint to the court in writing. The court may follow one
of the following procedures:

(a) Conduct its own review of the complaint or question and take appropriate
action if required, or,

(b) Refer the complaint to the State Bar.

F. PROCEDURES TO INFORM THE COURT OF INTERESTS OF THE
DEPENDENT CHILD WHICH REQUIRE FURTHER INVESTIGATION,
INTERVENTION, OR LITIGATION.

(1)  Judicial Council forms JV-100, Juvenile Dependency Petition, or JV-180),
Modlification Petition Attachment shall be utilized to inform the court and request

direction from the court.

(2) Upon receipt of the request by counsel for instructions from the court, the court
shall do one or all of the following:

(a) Refer the matter to the appropriate agency for further investigation, and
require a report to the court and counsel within a reasonable time;

(b) Authorize and direct the child’s attorney to initiate and pursue appropriate
action;

(c) Appoint a guardian ad litem for the child if one is required to initiate and
pursue appropriate action; or

(d) Take any other action to protect the interests and rights of the child.
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G. THE CHILD ADVOCATE PROGRAM.

The Superior Court may appoint child advocates to represent the interests of dependent
children. In order to qualify for appointment, the child advocate must be trained by and
function under the auspices of a Court Appointed Special Advocate Program (CASA) ,
formed and operating under the guidelines set forth in California Rules of Court, rule
5.655 and Welfare & Institutions Code section 356.5.

The CASA. program shall report regularly to the presiding judge of the juvenile court
with evidence that it is operating under the guidelines established by the National Court
Appointed Special Advocates Association and the California State Guidelines for Child
Advocates.

(1) Advocates’ functions. Advocates serve at the pleasure of the court having
jurisdiction over the proceeding in which the advocate has been appointed. In
general, an advocate’s functions are as follows:

(a) To support the child throughout the court proceedings;

(b) To establish a relationship with the child to better understand his or her
particular needs and desires;

() To communicate the child’s needs and desires to the court in written reports
and recommendations;

(d) To identify and explore potential resources which will facilitate early family
reunification or alternative permanency planning;

(e) To provide continuous attention to the child’s situation to ensure that the
court’s plans for the child are being implemented;

® To the fullest extent possible, to communicate and coordinate efforts with the
case manager/social worker;

(2 To the fullest extent possible, to communicate and coordinate efforts with the
child’s attorneys; and

(h) To investigate the interests of the child in other judicial or administrative
proceedings outside juvenile court; report to the juvenile court concerning
same; and, with the approval of the court, offer his/her services on behalf of
the child to such other courts or tribunals.

(2) Sworn officer of the court. An advocate is an officer of the court and is bound by
these rules. Each advocate shall be sworn in by a Superior Court judge before
beginning his/her duties and shall subscribe to a written oath.
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(3) Specific duties. The court shall, in its initial order of appointment, and thereafter in
any subsequent order, specifically delineate the advocate’s duties in each case,
which may include independent investigation of the circumstances of the case,
interviewing and observing the child and other appropriate individuals, reviewing
appropriate records and reports, consideration of visitation rights for the child’s
grandparents and other relatives, and reporting back directly to the court as
indicated. If no specific duties are outlined by court order, the advocate shall
discharge his/her obligation to the child and the court in accordance with the
general duties set forth in this rule.

(4) Release of information to advocate.

(@)

(b)

Rev. 17/1/254

Court authorization. To accomplish the appointment of an advocate, the
judge making the appointment shall sign an order granting the advocate the
authority to review specific relevant documents and interview parties
involved in the case, as well as other persons having significant information
relating to the child, to the same extent as any other officer appointed to
investigate proceedings on behalf of the court.

Access to records. An advocate shall have the same legal right to records
relating to the child he/she is appointed to represent as any case
manager/social worker with regard to records pertaining to the child held by
any agency, school, organization, division, or department of the State,
physician, surgeon, nurse, other health care provider, psychologist,
psychiatrist, mental health provider or law enforcement agency. The advocate
shall present his/her identification as a court-appointed advocate to any such
record holder in support of his/her request for access to specific records. No
consent from the parent or guardian is necessary for the advocate to have
access to any records relating to the child.

CASA volunteers are considered court personnel as that term is used in
Welfare and Institutions Code section 827. They shall have access to the
Probation Department and Department of Child Protective Services’ (CPS)
files and information contained therein needed to carry out their
responsibilities as court appointed advocates.

Any release by the Probation Department or CPS pursuant to this rule of
information made confidential by Welfare and Institutions Code Section
10850 shall be considered a disclosure for purposes directly connected with
the administration of public social services as that term is used in Welfare &
Institutions Code section 10850. Except as contained in their court report and
in their dealing with the parties in the particular case, the advocates are
prohibited from releasing any information they gain from inspection of these
files.
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(5) Report of child abuse. An advocate is a mandated child abuse reporter with
respect to the case to which the advocate is appointed.

(6) Communication with others. There shall be ongoing, regular communication
concerning the child’s best interests, current status, and significant case
developments, maintained among the advocate, CPS manager, child’s attorneys or
parents, relatives, foster parents, and any therapist for the child.

(7) Right to timely notice. In any motion concerning the child for whom the advocate
has been appointed, the moving party shall provide adequate and timely notice to
the advocate appointed for the child.

H. PHOTOS OF MINORS IN JUVENILE DEPENDENCY CASES.

Lassen County Family & Child Protective Services (CPS) is directed to provide the Court
with a photo of each minor who is subject of a juvenile dependency case. The photo shall
be appropriate for the Court’s file. Photos shall be provided for all cases currently open
and shall be provided for new cases within a reasonable time of the filing of the petition.

I. JUVENILE DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED FOR FILING.

With the Court’s implementation of a new case management system that can
accommodate the filing of one Juvenile Dependency case for multiple children who are
all full siblings. When a new Juvenile Dependency case is initiated, the petitioner shall
include all full siblings in one petition, and the case will be assigned one case number.

For all documents filed in the case, one original shall be provided to the court, and the
submitting party may submit the necessary number of copies to endorse to serve all
parties. The court will only maintain one case file, so only one original document needs
to be filed for each case containing all siblings.

For all documents filed in the case, all copies of the original document, including
attachments, all copies to be endorsed or copies served on counsel must be identical. All
reports shall be reviewed by the submitting party prior to filing to ensure the forms for
proposed findings and orders are correctly assembled and attached to the report and
identical copies are submitted to the court for filing.

J. NON-EMERGENCY APPLICATIONS.

The court having conferred with the Director of the Lassen County Health and Human
Services Department Division of Children and Family Protective Services and the Deputy
Lassen County Counsel assigned to Dependency Court, the following is hereby required:

Court Clerks shall not accept for filing any non-emergency applications, petitions, or
reports without the approving signature of an attorney with the Office of Lassen County
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Counsel, or a Social Worker Supervisor on behalf of the reviewing attorney, and the
signatures of the requesting or petitioning Social Worker and Social Worker Supervisor
of the Lassen County Children and Family Protective Services.

(Effective 7/1/99, as amended 7/1/00, 7/1/24)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 4

PROCEDURE IN FAMILY LAW CASES INVOLVING SUPPORT ISSUES

A. All motions, orders to show cause, and requests for order which include a prayer for the
establishment or modification of child support or family support, and in which the
Department of Child Support Services is a party, shall be heard by-the FamilyCourt
Commisstonerin Department 7. At the time of filing, the clerk accepting the filing shall
designate an appropriate hearing date and time in the Family Court Commissioner’s
department.

B. Pursuant to Family Code sections 10004 and 10005, when deemed appropriate by the
court, litigants shall be ordered to the Family Law Facilitator for assistance in
understanding their respective rights and obligations regarding support, for preparation of
support schedules, and for discussion of issues involving child support, spousal support,
and maintenance of health insurance. In the event such discussion does not result in
agreement, the Family Law Facilitator shall prepare and submit to the court a written
recommendation on the issues presented, with appropriate findings and conclusions
thereon.

C. Except where good cause is shown, the court shall order that payments pursuant to a child
support or family support order when Department of Child Support Services is a party be
made through the Department of Child Support Services’ California State Disbursement
Unit located at P.O. Box 989067, West Sacramento, California 95798.

(Effective 7/1/99, as amended 1/1/13, 1/1/23, 1/1/24, 1/1/25)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 5

DUTIES OF THE COURT’S FAMILY LAW FACILITATOR

The Office of the Family Law Facilitator shall perform each of the duties of that office
required by Family Code sections 10004 and 10005, at the direction of the court.

A.

Provide educational materials to self-represented litigants concerning the process of
establishing parentage and establishing, modifying, and enforcing child support and
spousal support, distribute necessary court forms and voluntary declarations of paternity,
provide assistance in completing forms, prepare support schedules based on statutory
guidelines, and provide referrals to the local child support agency, family court services,
and other community agencies and resources that provide services for parents and
children. The Office of the Family Law Facilitator shall not advocate on behalf of or
represent a party in family matters in the court.

Upon court order, draft stipulations for parties, including all issues presented and agreed
to by the parties.

Upon court order, prepare formal orders consistent with the court’s announced order in
cases where the parties are not represented by counsel.

(Effective 7/1/99, as amended 1/1/13, 1/1/24)

Local Rules of Court

Rev.17/1/254 www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov 32



Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

RULE OF COURT NO. 6

REMOTE APPEARANCE RULES

6.1 TELEPHONIC APPEARANCE RULE.

A. PROGRAM OVERVIEW.

1)

2

©)

“

(C))

The CourtCall Telephonic Appearance Program (CourtCall) organizes a procedure
for telephonic appearance by attorneys and self-represented litigants as an
alternative to personal appearances in appropriate cases and situations. A CourtCall
appearance is fully voluntary and available at a fixed fee or acceptance of a fee
waiver for use only in certain civil, unlawful detainer, probate cases, and Title [V-D
family support cases.

Hearings are conducted in open court or in private as the court may designate. All
attorneys and self-represented litigants making CourtCall appearances call a
designated toll-free teleconference number five minutes before the calendar is
scheduled, to check in with the clerk. Attorneys and self-represented litigants
remain on the court’s speakerphone-telephone line and hear the same business that
those present in the court may be hearing. Attorneys and self-represented litigants
not participating telephonically appear in person. The court calls the cases and all
the attorneys and self-represented litigants on a case participate in the hearing. All
present in the courtroom hear the discourse of those making CourtCall appearances.

CourtCall appearances are scheduled, in writing, in advance, by serving on all
parties to the action and delivering (via fax, mail, or personal delivery) to
CourtCall, not less than 5 court days prior to the hearing date, LSC-MIS-025,
Request for CourtCall Telephonic Appearance form, and by paying the stated fee
or fee waiver for each CourtCall appearance.

If the self-represented litigant has a fee waiver issued by the court, they are
required to fax a copy of the fee waiver to CourtCall in lieu of payment. A copy of
the valid fee waiver must be provided for each CourtCall appearance.

Participating parties shall expressly understand that there may be waiting periods
for the case to be called on the CourtCall system of up to an hour, and election to
use this appearance system option includes agreement that the party or counsel will
be on the CourtCall from the time of hearing to the time the case is called and
heard.

B. PARTICIPATION IN COURTCALL APPEARANCES.

(1
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In all general civil cases, a party providing notice may appear by telephone at
the following conferences, hearings, and proceedings as follows:

(i) Hearings on law and motion matters, except for motions in limine;

(ii) Case management conferences, provided the party has made a good
faith effort to meet and confer before the conference as required by
law and has timely served and filed a case management statement;

(iii) Trial setting conferences;

(iv) Hearings on discovery motions;

(v) Conferences to review the status of an arbitration or mediation;
(vi) Hearings to review the dismissal of an action;

(vii) Title IV-D family support non-evidentiary hearing conferences, or
law and motion matters;

(viii) Any other hearing, conference, or proceeding if the court determines
that a telephonic appearance is appropriate.

A court may require a party to appear in person at any hearing, conference, or
proceeding listed above in subdivision if the court determines on a hearing by
hearing basis that a personal appearance would materially assist in the
determination of the proceedings or in the effective management or
resolution of the particular case.

The court reserves the authority, at any time, to reject any Request for
CourtCall Appearance. When the court rejects a request, it shall order the
refund of deposited telephonic appearance fees and notify CourtCall.

The court reserves the authority to halt the telephonic hearing on any matter
and order the attorneys and self-represented litigants to personally appear at a
later date and time, in which case no refund is permitted.

If a matter is continued prior to the actual hearing date, the prior filing of a
Request for CourtCall Appearance form shall remain valid for the continued
date of the hearing.

Existing rules and procedures regarding the making of the record by a court
reporter or electronic device or obtaining a transcript after the hearing shall
apply to hearings at which CourtCall appearances are made. No recordings
may be made of telephonic appearances except in compliance with California
Rules of Court 1.150.

(2) Attorneys and Self-Represented Litigants.
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(a) Attorneys and self-represented litigants electing to make a CourtCall
appearance for eligible hearings and conferences shall serve on all other
parties in the case the Request for CourtCall Appearance form, fax a copy of
the form to CourtCall, and pay the CourtCall appearance fee in the method
prescribed, not less than five (5) court days before the hearing date.

(b) Attorneys and self-represented litigants choosing to make a CourtCall
appearance shall place the phrase “CourtCall Telephone Appearance” below
the title of the moving or opposing papers.

APPEARANCE PROCEDURE.
(1) An attorney or self-represented litigant making a CourtCall appearance shall:

(a) Eliminate to the greatest extent possible all ambient noise from the attorney’s
or self-represented litigant’s location;

(b) Be required, during the attorney’s or self-represented litigant’s appearance, to
speak directly into a telephone handset;

(2) An attorney or self-represented litigant making a CourtCall appearance shall call
the courts designated toll-free teleconference line approximately 15 minutes prior
to the scheduled hearing time and check in with the clerk. An attorney or self-
represented litigant calling after the check-in period shall be considered to be late
for the hearing and shall be sanctioned in the same manner as if the attorney or self-
represented litigant had personally appeared late for the hearing.

(3) An attorney or self-represented litigant appearing telephonically shall state his or
her name for the record each time he or she speaks and shall participate in the
appearance with the same degree of courtesy and courtroom etiquette as is required
for a personal appearance. An attorney or self-represented litigant shall not utilize
the “hold” button.

(Effective 7/1/99, as amended 7/1/11, 7/1/22, renumbered 1/1/23)

6.2

A.

REMOTE APPEARANCES VIA ZOOM
PROGRAM OVERVIEW.

This Local Rule is to provide greater access to justice, promote court efficiency, and is
adopted pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure §§ 367.75 and 367.76, California Rules of
Court, Rule 3.672, Penal Code §§ 977, 977.3, 1043.5, and 1428.5, and Welfare and
Institutions Code § 679.5.
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Further information on how to appear remotely and instructions relating to remote
appearances in this court can be found on the Remote Appearance and Zoom Appearance
pages of the court’s website www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

(1) Remote Appearances in Contested Hearings must be by video, no audio-only
appearances are permitted.

(2) Recording a court proceeding through any means is prohibited unless/until the
judicial officer specifically grants permission to record as per California Rules of
Court, Rule 1.150(c) & (d). A violation of this rule may result in the imposition of
sanctions as set forth in subsection (f) of Rule 1.150.

(3) The court does not provide technical support for Zoom participants. Please contact
the Zoom Help Center, your local IT support, or seek other online guidance if you
are experiencing issues with your connection.

(4) Any person appearing remotely shall conduct themselves in the same manner as if
they were appearing in person.

(5) Ifatany time during a remote proceeding the judicial officer determines that a
personal appearance is necessary, the court may continue the matter and require a
personal appearance.

(6) In the event technology or audibility issues arise that cannot be resolved in a
reasonable amount of time, parties may be required to appear in person.

TRAFFIC INFRACTION CASES.

Notwithstanding any other law, Penal Code § 1428.5(a) provides the Court authority to
conduct remote proceedings, including arraignments and trials, for all infractions.

This rule does not apply to Misdemeanor or Felony traffic related cases. See Rule 6.2(C)
for remote appearance rules covering these proceedings.

The Court generally allows remote appearances in Traffic Infraction cases without
judicial approval. This includes Traffic Court Trials:

(1) ARRAIGNMENTS

Defendants who wish to remotely appear for their traffic arraignment must submit the
electronic Traffic Calendar Add-On Request form located on the Zoom Appearance page
of the court’s website www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov no later than the Friday before their
appearance date. Submission of this form will indicate to the court your intention to
appear remotely for your traffic appearance pursuant to Penal Code § 1428.5(a)(1) and
will place your matter on calendar.
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(2) FURTHER PROCEEDINGS & COURT TRIALS

Defendants who have a mandatory appearance date or prior scheduled further proceeding
or Traffic Court Trial may appear remotely. Connection details and additional
instructions for Traffic Court Trials and Further Proceeding Remote Appearances are
located on the Zoom Appearance page of the Court’s website
www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

(a) OFFICER AND OTHER PARTY APPEARANCES

The Defendant’s consent is required to conduct traffic proceedings remotely
(PC § 1428.5(a)(1)), officers or other parties intending to appear remotely
must inform the Court of their intention to do so. Additionally, notice of such
must be served on all other parties to the proceeding. This request can be
submitted using Judicial Council form R4-010. A defendant may oppose this
request by filing Judicial Council form R4-015 with the court and serving all
parties. For the purposes of this rule, service and filing requirements and
deadlines will follow those outlined in California Rules of Court, Rule
3.672(h).

If a defendant and retained counsel appear from different locations, it is the defendant
and counsel’s responsibility to set up a private line of communication during the hearing;
the court is not obligated to provide one.

C. CRIMINAL CASES.

Notwithstanding any other law, Penal Code §§ 977, 977.3, and 1043.5 allows the
following remote appearances by defendants and witnesses in criminal cases.

This rule does not apply to mentally disordered offender, commitment, competency,
placement and revocation, and other proceedings identified in Code of Civil Procedure §
367.76(a)(1). See Rule 6.2(G) for remote appearance rules covering those proceedings.

(1) MISDEMEANORS

(a) Defendants may appear remotely in all misdemeanor proceedings except
misdemeanor jury and court trials.

(b) Attorneys may appear remotely if the court finds it appropriate and
practicable.

(2) FELONIES

(a) Defendants may appear remotely in all felony proceedings except trials and
sentencing unless the court allows the waiver of defendant’s presence for
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noncritical portions of felony trials where no testimonial evidence is taken.
Remote proceedings are allowed in postconviction relief proceedings and as
otherwise provided by law.

(b) Attorneys may appear remotely if the court finds it appropriate and
practicable.

WITNESSES

(a) Witnesses may appear remotely for misdemeanor and felony proceedings —
except for felony trials and only with the consent of both parties and the
court.

(b) Witnesses may appear remotely as otherwise allowed by statutes for the
closed-circuit examination of victims of sexual crimes and conditional
examinations of witnesses.

Connection details and additional instructions for Criminal Remote Appearances are
located on the Zoom Appearance page of the Court’s website
www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

1)

2

©))

@

(C))

JUVENILE DEPENDENCY CASES.

Parties can request a Remote Appearance by using Judicial Council forms RA-025,
RA-030, and RA-015 pursuant to California Rules of Court, Rule 3.672 and Code of
Civil Procedure § 367.75. Parties are required to reference the California Rules of
Court and Code of Civil Procedure for service and filing requirements.

All statutory confidentiality requirements applicable to Juvenile Dependency
proceedings held in person apply equally to remote proceedings.

Any person entitled to be present under California Rules of Court, Rule 5.530(b) or
authorized by court order may request to appear remotely and provide the request
to the court no later than the time the case is called.

Requests for a witness to appear by Remote Appearance must be made in writing,
the attorney for the party calling the witness may make a request on behalf of the
witness by filing form RA4-025 and serving a copy on all parties by any means
authorized by law no later than three (3) court days before the hearing.

Notwithstanding California Rules of Court, Rule 3.672 and Code of Civil
Procedure § 367.75, a party may ask the court to appear remotely without notice or
a timely request. The court may permit the remote appearance upon a finding of
good cause, unforeseen circumstances, or that allowing the remote appearance
would promote access to justice.
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E. NON-CRIMINAL CCP § 367.75 PROCEEDINGS (ADOPTION, CIVIL, SMALL
CLAIMS, FAMILY LAW, AND PROBATE).

Remote appearances in civil cases, excluding proceedings in matters identified in Code of
Civil Procedure § 367.76(a)(1) and Welfare and Institutions Code § 679.5, are governed
by California Rule of Court, Rule 3.672 and Code of Civil Procedure § 367.75. This rule
applies to all civil cases subject to Code of Civil Procedure § 367.75. Rule 6.2(G) covers
remote appearances pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure § 367.76. Rule 6.2(H) covers
remote appearances pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code § 679.5.

1)

2

©)

“

(6))

Parties can request a Remote Appearance by using Judicial Council forms RA-010
and RA-015 pursuant to California Rules of Court, Rule 3.672 and Code of Civil
Procedure § 367.75. Parties are required to reference the California Rules of Court
and Code of Civil Procedure for service and filing requirements.

The court will presume that parties set for a hearing in Non-Criminal proceedings
will be appearing in person unless the party participating in the hearing requests, or
notifies the court of their intention to appear remotely, or the court has ordered a
remote appearance on its own motion, by tentative ruling, probate notes or local
rule.

Remote Appearances will not be permitted if the tentative ruling or probate notes
posted for the hearing states that a personal appearance is required, or the court
advises the person requesting to appear remotely that the judicial officer has
determined that an in-person appearance is necessary to assist the determination of
hearing the in question.

Each judicial officer may, on their own motion, order that a trial or evidentiary
hearing, at which witnesses will be sworn and testimony received will be conducted
remotely unless an objecting party establishes that a remote appearance or
testimony should not be allowed or a party fails to consent to the witness’s remote
appearance. An expert witness may appear remotely absent a showing by an
objecting party that there is good cause to compel in-person testimony.

When a remote appearance is authorized and commences, the judicial officer may
terminate a remote appearance and continue the matter so that an in-person
appearance can occur if technology or audibility issues interfere with the judicial
officer’s ability to make a determination required by the hearing, the in-person
appearance is necessary to assist in the determination of the specific hearing, the
court reporter’s availability to make an accurate transcript, counsel’s ability to
provide effective representation, or an interpreter’s ability to provide language
access.

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE RESTRAINING ORDER AND GUN VIOLENCE

RESTRAINING ORDER PETITION APPEARANCES.
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(1) Pursuant to Family Code § 6308, the Court permits remote appearances for parties,
support persons as defined in Family Code § 6303, or witnesses appearing at a
hearing on a petition for a domestic violence restraining order.

(2) Pursuant to Penal Code § 18123, the Court permits remote appearances for parties
or witnesses appearing at a hearing on a petition for a gun violence restraining
order.

(3) Instructions and connection details for remote appearances permitted under this rule
and relevant statutes is to be posted on the Zoom Appearance page of the Court’s
website www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

G. MENTAL HEALTH, CONTEMPT, COMPETENCY, STATE HOSPITAL, AND
OTHER CCP § 367.76 PROCEEDINGS.

Remote appearances in proceedings identified in Code of Civil Procedure § 367.76(a)(1)
will be permitted by the court as covered and as described in the Code of Civil Procedure
section.

Instructions and connection details for remote appearances permitted under this rule and
relevant statutes is to be posted on the Zoom Appearance page of the Court’s website
www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

H. JUVENILE JUSTICE PROCEEDINGS.

Remote appearances in juvenile justice proceedings identified in Welfare and Institutions
Code §§ 601 and 602 will be permitted by the court as covered and as described in
Welfare and Institutions Code § 679.5.

Instructions and connection details for remote appearances permitted under this rule and
relevant statutes is to be posted on the Zoom Appearance page of the Court’s website
www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

(Effective 1/1/23, as amended: 7/1/23, 1/1/24, 7/1/24)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 7

CIVIL LITIGATION DELAY REDUCTION

A. STATEMENT OF POLICY.

These Rules are revised and promulgated pursuant to the Trial Court Delay Reduction
Act of 1986, as revised, set forth in Government Code section 68600, et seq. and
California Rules of Court Title 3 Civil Rules et seq. and apply to all pending and
hereafter filed civil actions in this court which are designed for inclusion in the Lassen
Superior Court Delay Reduction Program as set forth in these rules.

It is the policy of the Lassen Superior Court to actively manage, supervise and control the
litigation of all actions subject to these rules from initiation of an action through
disposition, for the purpose of resolving all subject civil cases with economy to the
parties in the most efficient manner consistent with the obligation of the court to give full
and careful consideration to all issues presented for resolution and provide a forum
wherein the parties may adequately prepare and present their cases before the court.

The goal of the Program is to manage civil cases from filing so that:

(1) Ofunlimited civil cases, 75% are disposed of within 12 months, 85% are disposed
of within 18 months, and 100% are disposed of within 24 months.

(2) Of limited civil cases, 90% are disposed of within 12 months, 98% are disposed of
within 18 months, and 100% are disposed of within 24 months.

In managing individual civil cases the court must consider each case on its merits. To
enable the fair and efficient resolution of civil cases, each case should be set for trial as
soon as appropriate for that individual case consistent with Rule 3.729.

B. CIVIL CASES SUBJECT TO PROGRAM.

All civil cases filed in the court are subject to the Program except those in the following

categories:

Probate Guardianship Conservatorship
Family Law Adoptions Small Claims
Unlawful Detainer Small Claims Appeals Writs

Civil Petitions Sister State Judgments Water Rights

Juvenile Court Proceedings

C. LAW AND MOTION MATTERS NOT SUBJECT TO PROGRAM.
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Any law and motion matters not specifically related to the processing of the case pursuant
to these rules or encompassed in the management of the case pursuant to these rules shall
be set and noticed in the appropriate law and motion department of the court.

D. DUTIES OF CLERK AND PARTY/ATTORNEY UPON FILING FIRST PAPER.

At the time of filing of the initial paper instituting a subject case, the clerk shall provide
to the party or attorney for the party presenting the document for filing LSC-CIV-025,
Delay Reduction Program Notice. A copy of that document shall be served upon each
other party with the Summons or other first document served upon them. Any party filing
a Cross-Complaint shall serve a copy of the document with the Summons or other first
document served upon any Cross-Defendants who have not previously been served as a
party to the action.

E. TIME FOR SERVICE OF COMPLAINT, CROSS-COMPLAINT AND
RESPONSE.

(1) Applicability. This rule applies to the service of pleadings in civil cases except for
unlawful detainer actions, proceedings under the Family Code, and other
proceedings for which different service requirements are prescribed by law.

(2) Service of Complaint. The Complaint must be served on all named Defendants
and proofs of service on those Defendants must be filed with the court within 60
days after the filing of the Complaint. When the Complaint is amended to add a
Defendant, the added Defendant must be served and proof of service must be filed
within 30 days after the filing of the amended complaint.

(3) Service of Cross-Complaint. A Cross-Complaint against a party who has appeared
in the action must be accompanied by proof of service of the Cross-Complaint at
the time it is filed. If the Cross-Complaint adds new parties, the Cross-Complaint
must be served on all parties, and proofs of service on the new parties must be filed
within 30 days of the filing of the Cross-Complaint.

(4) Timing of Responsive Pleadings. The parties may stipulate without leave of court
to one 15-day extension beyond the 30-day time period prescribed for the response
after service of the initial Complaint with written notice to the court.

(5) Modification of Timing; application for order extending time. The court, on its
own motion or on the application of a party, may extend or otherwise modify the
times provided in (2)—(4). An application for a court order extending the time to
serve a pleading must be filed before the time for service has elapsed. The
application must be accompanied by a declaration showing why service has not
been effected, documenting the efforts that have been made to effect service, and
specifying the date by which service is proposed to be effected.
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(6) Request for Entry of Default. If a responsive pleading is not served within the
time limits specified in this rule and no extension of time has been granted, the
Plaintiff within 10 days after the time of service has elapsed must file a Request for
Entry of Default.

(7) Default Judgment. When a default is entered, the party to request the entry of
default must obtain a Default Judgment against the defaulting party within 45 days
after entry of default, unless the court has granted an extension of time.

F. CASE MANAGEMENT CONFERENCE; MEET-AND-CONFER
REQUIREMENT; AND CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER.

(1) Initial case management review. In every general civil case except complex cases
and cases exempted under California Rules of Court, rules 3.712, 3.714, and 3.735,
the court shall review the case no later than 180 days after the filing of the initial
complaint.

(2) Case management conference.

(a) Case management conference. In each case, the court will set an initial case
management conference to review the case. Notice of the case management
conference will be given to all parties no later than 45 days before the
conference, unless otherwise ordered by the court. At the conference, counsel
for each party and self-represented litigant must appear personally or, if
permitted under rule 3.670, by telephone, must be familiar with the case, and
must be prepared to discuss and commit to the party’s position on the issues
listed in (5)-(6) below.

At the initial conference, the court must review the case comprehensively and decide
whether to assign the case to an alternative dispute resolution process, whether to set the
case for trial, and the other matters stated in this rule. The initial case management
conference should generally be the first case management event conducted by court order
in each case, except for orders to show cause.

(b)  Case management order without appearance. If, based on its review of the
written submissions of the parties and such other information as is available,
the court determines that appearances at the conference are not necessary, the
court may issue a case management order and notify the parties that no
appearance is required.

(3) Special order or request for a case management conference. The court on its
own motion may order, or a party or parties may request, that a case management
conference be held at any time.
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(4) Arbitration determination. The court at the case management conference or
review will determine if the case is suitable for judicial arbitration pursuant to Code
of Civil Procedure section 1141.11(b).

(5) Subjects to be considered at the case management conference. In any case
management conference or review under this rule, the parties must address, if
applicable, and the court may take appropriate action with respect to, the following:

()
(b)

(©)

(d)

(e)

U
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(h)
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Whether there are any related cases;

Whether all parties named in the complaint or cross-complaint have been
served, have appeared, or have been dismissed;

Whether any additional parties may be added or the pleadings may be
amended;

Whether, if the case is a limited civil case, the economic litigation procedures
under Code of Civil Procedure section 90 et seq. will apply to it or the party
intends to bring a motion to exempt the case from these procedures;

Whether any other matters (e.g. the bankruptcy of a party) may affect the
court’s jurisdiction or processing of the case;

Whether the parties have stipulated to, or the case should be referred to,
judicial arbitration or any other form of Alternative Dispute Resolution
(ADR) and, if so, the date by which the ADR must be completed;

Whether an early settlement conference should be scheduled and, if so, on
what date;

Whether discovery has been completed and, if not, the date by which it will
be completed; disclosing all who have been deposed; all who are to be
deposed, when and where they are to be deposed, and the reason why each
person is being deposed.

What discovery issues are anticipated;

Whether the case should be bifurcated or a hearing should be set for a motion
to bifurcate under Code of Civil Procedure, section 598;

Whether there are any Cross-Complaints that are not ready to be set for trial
and, if so, whether they should be severed;
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Whether the case is entitled to any statutory preference and, if so, the statute
granting the preference;

Whether a jury trial is demanded, and, if so, the identity of each party
requesting a jury trial;

The date by which the case will be ready for trial;

The estimated length of trial,

The nature of the injuries;

The amount of damages, including any special or punitive damages;
Any additional relief sought;

Whether there are any insurance coverage issues that may affect the
resolution of the case; and

Any other matters that should be considered by the court or addressed in its
case management order.

(6) Meet-and-confer requirement. Unless the court orders another time period, no
later than 30 days before the date set for the case management conference, the
parties must meet and confer, in person or by telephone, to consider each of the
issues identified in (5) and, in addition, to consider the following:

()
(b)
(©)

(d)
(e)
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Resolving any discovery disputes and setting a discovery schedule;
Identifying and, if possible, informally resolving any anticipated motions;

Identifying the facts and issues in the case that are uncontested and may be
the subject of stipulation;

Identifying the facts and issues in the case that are in dispute;

Determining whether the issues in the case can be narrowed by eliminating
any claims or defenses by means of a motion or otherwise;

Whether there will be an independent medical exam and, if so, the date the
parties expect to schedule the same;

The nature of experts who are anticipated to be used at trial.
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(7) Case Management Statement.

(@)

(b)

(c)

(d)

Timing of statement. No later than 15 calendar days before the date set for
the case management conference or review, each party must file a case
management statement and serve it on all other parties in the case.

Contents of statement. Parties must use the mandatory CM-110, Case
Management Statement form. All applicable items on the form must be
completed. In lieu of each party filing a separate case management statement,
any two or more parties may file a joint statement under this rule.

Description of case. Parties shall provide a statement of the case, including
any damages, with sufficient detail and specificity. The claims and causes of
action must be clearly identified and adequately described. The nature and
amount of damages must be clearly identified and adequately described, to
include the specific injury and specific dollar amount if monetary damages
are sought. Indicating “nature and amount of damages to be determined” or
other non-specific statements regarding damages will be deemed insufficient
and non-compliant with this local rule.

Discovery. Parties must indicate whether or not all discovery has been
completed. If all discovery has not been completed, parties shall describe in
substantial detail: (1) the identity of the party with incomplete discovery; (2)
the description of the incomplete discovery; and (3) the specific dates by
which the incomplete discovery will be completed. Indicating “pursuant to
code” or other non-specific statements regarding the date by which
incomplete discovery will be completed will be deemed insufficient and non-
compliant with this local rule.

(8) Stipulation to Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR). If all parties agree to use
an ADR process, they must jointly complete the ADR stipulation form provided for
under California Rules of Court 3.221 and file it with the court.

(9) Case management order. The case management conference must be conducted in
the manner provided by local rule. The court will enter a case management order
setting a schedule for subsequent proceedings and otherwise providing for the
management of the case. The order should include such provisions as may be
appropriate, including:

(@)

(b)
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Referral of the case to judicial arbitration or some other form of alternative
dispute resolution;

A date for completion of the arbitration process or other form of alternative

dispute resolution process if the case has been referred to such a process;
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(c) Whether all parties necessary to the disposition of the case have been served
or have appeared;

(d)  The dismissal or severance of parties not served or not appearing in the
action;

(e) The names and addresses of the attorneys who will try the case;
® The date, time, and place for a mandatory settlement conference;

() The date, time, and place for a final case management conference before trial
if such a conference is required by the court or the judge assigned to the case;

(h) The date, time, and place of any further case management conferences or
review; and

(i) Any additional orders that may be appropriate, including orders on matters
listed in (5) and (6).

(10) Case management order controls. The order issued after the case management
conference or review controls the subsequent course of the action or proceeding
unless it is modified by a subsequent order.

G. Further Case Management Conference.

After the first case management conference, the court will normally set one or a series of
further case management conferences, for each of which the parties have the same duties
as with the first (service and filing of a case management statement and appearance of the
party or trial counsel). The parties will be expected to have completed the discovery
identified in the order from the first case management conference within the time limits
set for the same in the order.

H. At-Issue Memorandum Abolished.
No At-Issue Memorandum shall be filed by the clerk of the court in any case subject to

this rule. Requests for trial shall be made on the case management statement together
with request for court reporter services.

I. Responsibility of Case Management Judge.

The responsibility of the case management judge is to achieve a just and effective
processing of each subject case through active management and supervision of the pace
of litigation from the date of filing to disposition.
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J. STIPULATIONS FOR RELIEF FROM RULES PROHIBITED.

The parties to an action subject to these rules shall not enter a stipulation that purports to
relieve any or all parties from the operation of these rules. Any request for relief from any
part of these rules shall be on noticed motion to the appropriate law and motion calendar
judge (not to the case management judge.)

K. Plaintiff/Cross-Complainant must file a dismissal within 45 days of settlement of the
Complaint/Cross-Complaint. If the Plaintiff/Cross-Complainant fails to do so the court
will dismiss the case unless good cause is shown why the case should not be dismissed
(Rule of Court 3.1385(b)).

L. Failure to follow any of the foregoing Delay Reduction Program/Case Management
Program Rules may result in an order to show cause why sanctions should not be
imposed pursuant to Rule of Court 2.30. Similarly, failure to follow any aspect of a case
management order, including but not limited to discovery schedules, may result in an
order to show cause why sanctions should not be imposed pursuant to Code of Civil
Procedure section 177.5 and/or California Rules of Court 2.30.

M. SANCTIONS FOR DELAY IN PROSECUTING AN ACTION.

The court may on its own motion or on a motion for defendant issue sanctions of
dismissal under California Rules of Court 3.1340 or impose other less severe sanctions as
otherwise provided by law that the court deems appropriate for a delay in prosecution, if
the action has not been brought to trial or conditional settlement within two years after
the action was commenced against Defendant.

(Effective 7/1/99, as amended 1/1/13, 7/1/19)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 8

JURY SERVICE AND DEFERMENT

A. DUTY OF CITIZENS.

Jury service, unless excused by law, is a responsibility of citizenship. The court and its
staff should employ all necessary and appropriate means to assure that citizens fulfill this
important civic responsibility.

B. WRITTEN COURT POLICY.

Pursuant to Division 1, Section 4.5 of the Standards of Judicial Administration of the
California Rules of Court, the court hereby adopts criteria governing the granting of
excuses from jury service on grounds of undue hardship based on Code of Civil
Procedure section 204. The policy incorporates the following principles:

(1) No class or category or persons will be automatically excluded from jury service
except as provided by law.

(2) A statutory exemption from jury duty service will be granted only when the eligible
person claims it.

(3) Deferring jury service shall be preferred to excusing a prospective juror for a
temporary or marginal hardship.

(4) Inconvenience to a prospective juror or an employer is not an adequate reason to be
excused from jury service, although it may be considered a ground for deferral.

C. REQUEST TO BE EXCUSED.

All requests to be excused from jury service that are granted for undue hardship shall be
in writing from the prospective juror, or placed on the court’s record. The prospective
juror shall support the request with facts specifying the hardship in a statement about why
the circumstances constituting the undue hardship cannot be avoided by deferring the
prospective juror’s service.

D. GROUNDS CONSTITUTING UNDUE HARDSHIP.

An excuse on the grounds of undue hardship may be granted for any of the following
reasons:

(1) The prospective juror has no reasonably available means of public or private
transportation.
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(2) The prospective juror travels a distance exceeding 1 and 2 hours from the
prospective juror’s home.

(3) The prospective juror will bear an extreme financial burden. In determining
whether to excuse the prospective juror, consideration shall be given to:

(a) The source of the prospective juror’s household income;
(b) The availability and extent of income reimbursement;
(c) The expected length of service; and

(d) Whether service can reasonably be expected to compromise that person’s
ability to support himself or herself or his or her dependents or so disrupt the
economic stability of any individual as to be against the interest of justice.

(4) The prospective juror will bear an undue risk of material injury to or destruction of
property of the prospective juror, where it is not feasible to make alternative
arrangements to alleviate the risk. In determining whether to excuse the prospective
juror, consideration shall be given to;

(a) The nature of the property;
(b) The source and duration of the risk;
(c) The probability that the risk will be realized,

(d) The reason why alternative arrangements to protect the property cannot be
made; and

(e) Whether material injury to or destruction of the property will so disrupt the
economic stability of any individual as to be against the interest of justice.

(5) The prospective juror has a physical or mental disability or impairment, not
affecting that person’s competence to act as a juror that would expose the potential
juror to undue risk of mental or physical harm. In an individual case, except where
the person is aged 70 years or older, the prospective juror shall be required to
furnish verification or a method of verification of the disability or impairment, its
probable duration, and the particular reasons for the person’s inability to serve as a
juror.

(6) The prospective juror’s services are immediately needed for the protection of
public health and safety, and it is feasible to make alternative arrangements to
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relieve the person of these responsibilities during the period of service as a juror
without substantially reducing essential public services.

(7) The prospective juror has a personal obligation to provide actual and necessary care
to another, including sick, aged, or infirm dependents, or a child who requires the
prospective juror’s personal care and attention, and no comparable substitute care is
either available or practical without imposing undue economic hardship on the
prospective juror or person cared for. Whether a request to be excused is based on
care provided to a sick, disabled, or infirm person, the prospective juror may be
required to furnish verification or a method of verification that the person being
cared for is in need of regular and personal care.

E. PRIOR JURY SERVICE.

A prospective juror, who served on a grand or trial jury during the immediately preceding
12 months, shall be excused from jury service on a request for a period of one (1) year
from the date of such service.

F. VALID REASONS FOR A PROSPECTIVE JUROR TO BE EXCUSED.

Upon request, the jury commissioner of the Lassen Superior Court is empowered to
excuse from jury service persons for whom jury service would entail an undue hardship
as herein above defined.

G. EXAMPLES OF VALID REASONS FOR A PROSPECTIVE JUROR TO BE
DEFERRED.

Upon request, the jury commissioner of the Lassen Superior Court is empowered to
postpone the jury service of a person for a period not to exceed 180 days for the
following reasons:

(1) A temporary illness;

(2) A scheduled vacation that involves prepaid commitments, or cannot be otherwise
conveniently rescheduled;

(3) An important business demand of a nonrecurring nature which cannot be
conveniently rescheduled;

(4) A work hardship, i.e., there is no one available to take the place of that particular
employee at the present time and, as a result, the business would suffer severe
financial or business hardship;

(5) Child care responsibilities;
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(6) A full time student when jury service would jeopardize his/her academic program;

(7) Any other legitimate temporary hardship not expressly defined that in the opinion
of the jury commissioner of the Lassen Superior Court would justify temporary
deferment of jury service.

All other persons whose jury service has been postponed shall be called to jury service
when the reasons for the postponement no longer exist.

H. FAILURE TO APPEAR FOR JURY SERVICE.

Pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure § 209, any prospective juror who has been
summoned for service, and who fails to respond as directed and be excused from
attendance, will be issued a Failure to Appear/Respond to a Jury Summons notice to
appear in court; may have monetary sanctions imposed on them (up to $1,500); may be
found in contempt of court, punishable by fine (up to $1,000), incarceration (5 days), or
both.

(Effective 7/1/00, as amended 7/1/05, 7/1/22, 1/1/24)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 9

MINORS AND INCOMPETENTS COMPROMISE

A petition for court approval of a compromise or covenant not to sue pursuant to Probate

Code section 2504 or 3500 shall be verified by the petitioner and must comply with
California Rules of Court, Rule 3.1384, Rules 7.950 — 7.955, and shall include:
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The name, birth date, age, and sex of the minor or incompetent person;

The nature and extent of the injury giving rise to the claim with sufficient
particularity to inform the court whether such injury is permanent or temporary;

A doctor’s report containing a diagnosis of the injury, a current report of present
condition, and prognosis for future medical care;

The facts and circumstances out of which the claim or injury arose, including the
time, place, and persons involved;

A full disclosure of all information concerning the reasonableness of the proposed
compromise of covenant not to sue, including the amounts, if any, paid or to be
paid to other claimants;

If the settlement is structured, the present cash value of the settlement;

A summary of all medical expenses paid or owing to each health care provider, and
the source of any payments;

If the money is to be deposited in an account subject to withdrawal only upon order
of the court, the name, and address of the depository; and

The amount of attorneys’ fees requested. The court will use a reasonable fee
standard when approving and allowing the amount of attorney’s fees payable from
money or property paid or to be paid for the benefit of a minor or a person with a
disability. In computing fees, the expenses of litigation to be reimbursed shall not
be included in the “amount recovered” for the purpose of fixing fees. Such
expenses of litigation shall be separately itemized. Except in cases of hardship,
parents should pay their proportionate share of attorneys’ fees and costs.

Petition for withdrawal of funds. A petition for withdrawal of money deposited in a
bank, trust company, or savings and loan association on behalf of a minor or
incompetent person shall be verified by the guardian, conservator, or trustee and, in
the case of a competent minor, by such minor if the minor is at least 12 years of
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age. The petition for withdrawal shall contain the current age of the minor, the
current amount on deposit, the amount and purpose of the present withdrawal.
(Effective 7/1/00, as amended 7/1/06, 7/1/23)

Local Rules of Court
Rev.17/1/254 www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov

54



Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

RULE OF COURT NO. 10

APPELLATE DIVISION

A. SESSIONS.

The Appellate Division will convene at times and places designated by the Presiding
Judge of the Appellate Division. Effective July 1, 2024, each respective county will
process their own appeals.

B. JUDGE.

The Presiding Judge of each court or his/her designee shall act as the Appellate Division
Presiding Judge rotating every two years, commencing January 1, 2020, in the following
order by court: Modoc, Sierra, Lassen, and Plumas. The Presiding Judge of the Appellate
Division shall oversee the processing of appeals; appoint three judges to hear each case,
and designate one of them to preside over that panel, who shall be designated as the
presiding judge of the panel; and act upon routine matters, applications, and motions
before the court.

C. BRIEFS.

All briefs filed with the Appellate Division must be bound on the top, with covers in
colors as designated by California Rules of Court 8.40(a). Copies are not required to be
submitted because briefs are submitted to the appellate panel judges electronically,
eliminating the need for additional copies.

Briefs that are filed by fax filing under Section I or electronically filed under Section J
are not required to be bound or to have covers in the colors designated by California
Rules of Court 8.40(a).

D. MOTIONS.

All motions, including ex parte applications for orders in a case where there has not been
an appointment of a hearing panel and presiding judge thereof, shall be presented to the
presiding judge of the Appellate Division. In cases where a panel designation has been
made, they shall be presented to the presiding judge of the panel. Any such presiding
judge may act on routine matters or may schedule a motion for hearing before the panel
at his or her discretion.

E. MOTIONS FOR AUGMENTATION AND CORRECTION OF THE RECORD;
MOTIONS FOR ADDITIONS TO THE RECORD.
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(1) All motions for augmentation and correction of the record pursuant to Rule 8.841,
California Rules of Court, and motions for the addition of omitted portions of the
record pursuant to Rule 8.841, California Rules of Court, shall set forth the facts
showing: 1) good cause why the materials have not been included in the record on
appeal; and 2) any previous motions for augmentation or additions to the record
granted or denied to any party after filing of the notice of appeal.

(2) All such motions shall specifically identify each paper, record, or exhibit that is
being requested and/or specifically identify, by subject, date, and department what
portion of the proceedings before the trial court is being requested to be transcribed.

F. COURT REPORTER.

The sessions of the Appellate Division shall not be reported by a court reporter unless a
party so requests at least one week prior to the date set for the hearing.

G. WAIVER OF FEES AND COSTS.

Applications for a waiver of fees and costs shall be made pursuant to California Rules of
Court 8.818.

H. APPOINTED COUNSEL IN MISDEMEANOR APPEALS.
(1) Right to counsel.

(a) A Defendant appealing a misdemeanor conviction, who had appointed
counsel at trial or who has otherwise met the standards for appointed counsel,
is entitled to appointed counsel on appeal.

(2) Applications for appointed counsel.

(a) A party, meeting the standards, may apply for appointment of counsel either
in the trial court or in the Appellate Division pursuant to California Rules of
Court 8.851.

(b)  Applications filed in the Appellate Division are decided, without hearing, by
the presiding judge.

(3) List of attorneys.

(a)  Appointments are made by the Appellate Division from the list of attorneys
maintained by the Appellate Division.

I. FAX FILINGS.:
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Fax filings in the Appellate Division will be accepted during normal business hours.

A party may file by fax directly to the Appellate Division. Each document transmitted for
fax filing shall contain the phrase “By Fax” immediately below the title of the document.

A party who files a signed document by fax represents that the original signed document
is in his or her possession or control.

At any time after filing a signed facsimile document, any other party may serve a demand
for production of the original physically signed document. The demand shall be served on
all other parties but not be filed with the court.

If a demand for production of the original signed document is made, the parties shall
arrange a meeting at which the original signed document can be examined.

Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, a signature produced by facsimile
transmission is an original.

Filings by fax shall be sent to the following telephone number: 530-251-2115

Filings by fax in the Appellate Division shall be accompanied by Appeal Facsimile
Transmission Cover Sheet (LSC-APL-100). The cover sheet shall be the first page
transmitted. Telephone No and E-Mail Address fields on the cover sheet are deemed
required.

If the facsimile filing is not filed by the court because of (1) an error in the transmission
of the document to the court which was unknown to the sending party or (2) a failure to
process the facsimile filing when received by the court, the sending party may move the
court for an order filing the document nunc pro tunc. The motion shall be accompanied

by the transmission record and a proof of transmission in the following form:

“At the time of transmission [ was at least 18 years of age and not a party to this legal
proceeding. On (date) and (time) , | transmitted to the
Appellate Division of the Superior Court the following documents (name)

by facsimile machine, pursuant to local rule. The court’s fax
telephone number that I used as (fax telephone number ) . The
facsimile machine I used complied with rule 2.301 and no error was reported by the
machine. I caused the machine to print a transmission record of the transmission, a copy
of which is attached to this declaration.

“I declare under penalty of perjury that under the laws of the State of California that the
foregoing is true and correct.”

J. ELECTRONIC FILINGS.
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Electronic filings will be accepted in the Appellate Division during normal business
hours.

A party may submit documents for filing electronically to the Appellate Division. Each
document transmitted electronically for filing shall contain the phrase “Electronically
Submitted” immediately below the title of the document.

A party who files a signed document electronically represents that the original signed
document is in his or her possession or control.

At any time after filing a signed electronically filed document, any other party may serve
a demand for production for the original physically signed document. The demand shall
be served on all other parties but not be filed with the court.

If a demand for production of the original signed document is made, the parties shall
arrange a meeting at which the original signed document can be examined.

Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, a signature produced by electronic
transmission is an original.

Electronic filings shall be sent to the following email address:
appellatedivision@lassencourt.ca.gov

Electronic filings shall be accompanied by a cover sheet with the following information:

TO:  Appellate Division of the Superior Court
2610 Riverside Drive
Susanville, CA 96130
Telephone Number: 530-251-8205
Email Address: appellatedivision(@lassencourt.ca.gov

NAME, ADDRESS, TELEPHONE NUMBER & EMAIL ADDRESS OF
PARTY MAKING FILING

DATE SUBMITTED
DOCUMENT SUBMITTED
TOTAL NUMBER OF PAGES

Electronically submitted documents will be printed and the filed documents will be
placed in the case file.

If a technical problem with respect to a court’s electronic filing system precludes the
court from accepting an electronic filing during its regular filing hours on a particular
court day, and the electronic filer demonstrates that he or she attempted to file on that
day, the court must deem the filing received on that day.
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K. ORAL ARGUMENT APPEARANCES BY VIDEOCONFERENCE-.

Whenever hearings for oral argument on appeal have been set, upon request by any party,
or on his or her own motion, the presiding judge of the panel may permit appearances of
any of the parties and any or all of the judges assigned to the panel to appear by
videoconference, provided all of the following conditions are met:

Oy
2

3

@

C)

Notice of the time and place of the oral argument will be given to all parties;

The parties will present oral argument in the venue where the underlying case being
appealed was heard;

Each of the judges assigned to the panel shall participate in person or by
videoconference during the entire oral argument hearing;

The oral argument hearings shall be open to the public in the venue where the place
of the oral argument is being heard and in each other venue where one of the judges
assigned to the panel is participating by videoconference equipment;

Notice shall be given to all parties of the location where each participating panel
judge will be sitting while participating in the oral argument hearing.

L. ELECTRONIC RECORDING.

1)

2
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Electronic Recording pursuant to California Rules of Court rule
8.837(d)(6)(A), 8.869(d)(6)(A), or 8.916(d)(6)(A).

A judicial officer may order that the original of an official electronic recording of
the court proceedings, or a copy made by the court, be transmitted to the Appellate
Division as the record of oral proceedings in a limited civil, misdemeanor or
infraction case without being transcribed and in lieu of correcting appellant’s
proposed statement on appeal. Such order may be made when the judicial officer
determined that this procedure would save court time and resources.

This rule shall apply only if the appellant elects a statement on appeal as the record
of oral proceedings pursuant to California Rules of Court rule 8.831(b)(4),
8.864(a)(3), or 8.915(a).

Electronic Recording Pursuant to Government Code § 69957.

Pursuant to Government Code § 69957, certain court proceedings may be
electronically recorded when a court reporter is not available. The electronic
recording serves as the official record of the proceeding in these instances.
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In Cases where an electronic recording serves as the official record, a party may
request a copy by completing a Request for Copy of Electronically Recorded
Proceeding form and submitting the form to the Clerk of the Court at the Hall of
Justice, 2610 Riverside Drive, Susanville, CA 96130. Pursuant to Government
Code § 70631, a fee of $10 will be charged for each copy requested.

M. OTHER RULES OF APPEAL.

Except as modified by this section, the California Rules of Court on Appeals to the
Superior Court (commencing with Rule 8.800) apply to the Appellate Division. Any
applications involving matters pending before the Appellate Division shall be presented
to the designated presiding judge of the assigned panel for the case involved, or, in the
absence of such designation, the presiding judge of the Appellate Division.

(Effective 7/1/04, as amended 7/1/14, 7/1/19, 1/1/23, 7/1/24)

Local Rules of Court
Rev.17/1/254 www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov

60



Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

RULE OF COURT NO. 11

CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDERS AND
CHILD CUSTODY AND VISITATION ORDERS

Judicial Council Form CR-160, Criminal Protective Order-Domestic Violence under Penal Code
section 136.2 and 1203.097(a)(2) and Family Code section 6380, shall be utilized to protect
victims of violent crime from all contact by the defendant, or contact, with the intent to annoy,
harass, threaten, or commit acts of violence by the defendant.

A.

The District Attorney’s Office shall prepare the CR-160, Criminal Protective Order-
Domestic Violence, and submit the form to the court for issuance of the order. Law
enforcement shall enter the criminal protective order and proof of service into CLETS
within one (1) business day from the time of service or receipt from the court.

The court shall submit proof of service of the Criminal Protective Order to law
enforcement within one (1) business day of receipt.

The court shall make reasonable efforts to determine whether there exists a Criminal
Protective Order that involves any party when issuing any orders involving child custody
or visitation.

The court shall make reasonable efforts to determine whether any child custody or
visitation orders exist when issuing criminal protective orders and may modify the
criminal protective order to allow or restrict contact between the person restrained by the
order and his or her children.

Firearm restrictions and enforcement of the Criminal Protective Order under Penal Code
section 136.2 shall apply.

(Effective 7/1/06, as amended 7/1/11)

Local Rules of Court

Rev.17/1/254 www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov 61


https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/cr160.pdf
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/cr160.pdf

12.1

Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

RULE OF COURT NO. 12

CHILD CUSTODY RECOMMENDING COUNSELING (CCRC), MEDIATION AND

SUPERVISED VISITATION

CHILD CUSTODY RECOMMENDING COUNSELING

(CCRC)/MEDIATION/CHILD CUSTODY EVALUATIONS.

A.

CHILD CUSTODY RECOMMENDING COUNSELING (CCRC)/MEDIATION/
CHILD CUSTODY EVALUATIONS- GENERAL PROVISIONS.

For purposes of these rules, “Child Custody Recommending Counseling” (CCRC) and
“Voluntary Mediation” shall be conducted in accordance with Family Code section 3160
et seq. CCRC shall be conducted when there is a pending family law action before the
court and may result in a recommendation to the court. Voluntary Child Custody
Mediation may be conducted when there is not a pending family law action before the
court. Child custody evaluation shall be defined by California Rules of Court, rule
5.220(¢c)(3) and Family Code section 3110 et seq., and shall be conducted according to
the procedures set forth in California Rules of Court, Rule 5.220.

MEDIATION WITHOUT PENDING PROCEEDING.

Parties who do not have a pending family law action before the court may request
Voluntary Mediation by completing intake packets with Family Court Services. This
service is offered to the public when (1) sufficient time is available on the mediator’s
calendar, (2) when Family Court Services has received a completed intake packet from
all partles in the case, and (3) when both partles have completed orientation. I—f—pa%&es

G%He%e&app%ep%eﬁ{efs—eﬂﬂﬂﬁmese}ved—fs&tesfFaﬂure to come to a complete
agreement during Voluntary Mediation shall result in the Mediator making a
recommendation to the Court on unresolved topics. If the parties come to a complete
agreement during Voluntary Mediation no recommendation to the court will be made

REFERRAL TO CHILD CUSTODY RECOMMENDING COUNSELING (CCRC)
/RECOMMENDATIONS — CHILD CUSTODY AND VISITATION.

All contested custody and visitation matters shall be referred to CCRC prior to or at a
court hearing in order to assist the parties in developing a parenting plan that protects the
health, safety, welfare, and best interest of the child. In pending actions before the court,
if the parties are unable to reach an agreement during the CCRC session(s), the child
custody recommending counselor shall make recommendations to the court on the
disputed issues. The recommendation will be marked confidential and will be reviewed
and considered by the judge when making an order. The child custody recommending
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counselor may also make an interim recommendation for a temporary parenting plan
pending completion of the custody recommendation.

D. REFERRAL TO FAMILY COURT SERVICES - DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
RESTRAINING ORDERS .

Temporary domestic violence restraining orders with child custody and visitation issues
orders may be referred to Family Court Services.

E.  PARTICIPATION OF CHILDREN IN CHILD CUSTODY RECOMMENDING
COUNSELING (CCRC)-.

The child custody recommending counselor shall have the discretion to interview any
child involved in a child custody proceeding pending before the court.

F. SUPPORT PERSONS.

Pursuant to Family Code section 6303, in cases where a person alleges that they are a
victim of violence, he or she shall be advised of and provided the opportunity to have a
support person attend CCVC/Voluntary Mediation services with them. The support
person must be 18 years of age or older, shall not be the child of either parent, shall not
be the attorney for either party, and shall not be a service provider, except a mental health
service provider or domestic violence advocate. The support person shall not be present
as a legal adviser and shall not give legal advice. The support person is present to provide
emotional support to the victim. A child custody recommending counselor/mediator may
exclude a support person pursuant to Family Code section 6303(c), if the support person
participates or acts as an advocate or is disruptive or disrupts the process of
CCRC/Voluntary Mediation. The support person is required to sign a Family Court
Services’ Statement of Understanding agreeing to keep the CCRC/Voluntary Mediation
confidential.

G. INTERPRETERS IN CHILD CUSTODY RECOMMENDING COUNSELING
(CCRC)-.

If an interpreter is needed for CCRC/Voluntary Mediation, a neutral person who is fluent
in both English and the non-English speaking party’s native language must accompany
them to CCRC/Voluntary Mediation. An adult family member may only act as an
interpreter when appropriate interpreters are not available. In no case may a child of the
parties serve as an interpreter.

H. CHILD CUSTODY EVALUATIONS.

Any case in which custody or visitation remains in dispute after completion of CCRC, the
court may appoint a child custody evaluator to conduct a child custody evaluation in
cases where the court determines it is in the best interests of the child(ren). The
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evaluation shall be referred to a Court-Connected Child Custody Evaluator who meets the
requirements of Family Code section 3110.5. The court may order a full or partial
evaluation as defined in California Rules of Court, rules 5.220(c)(4) and (5). The parties
may be charged a fee for the evaluation through Lassen Superior Court. The Court-
Connected Child Custody Evaluator shall file with the court a written confidential report
pursuant to Family Code section 3111, Family Code section 3118, Evidence Code section
730, and/or Chapter 15, Code of Civil Procedure section 2032.010 et seq.

(1) Pursuant to California Rules of Court 5.230(f), the Court-Connected Child Custody
Evaluator shall provide a declaration of completion of 12 hours of advanced
domestic violence training and four (4) hour update training in domestic violence
by attachment to the FL-325, Declaration of Court-Connected Child Custody
Evaluator Regarding Qualification, filed annually with the court.

WITHDRAWAL FROM A CASE.

A Court-Connected Child Custody Evaluator may, upon a showing of good cause before
the court, withdraw from a case.

EX PARTE COMMUNICATION.

Pursuant to California Rules of Court, rule 5.235(b)(2), ex parte communication is
defined as a direct or indirect communication on the substance of a pending case without
the knowledge, presence, or consent of all parties involved in the matter. Ex parte
communication is prohibited between the court-connected or court appointed child
custody recommending counselors /evaluators/mediator and any party, the attorney for
any party, a court-appointed counsel for a child, or the court, unless:

(a)  Authorized by the court;

(b) to schedule appointments;

(c) address a case involving allegations of domestic violence including informing
the court of the necessity of a restraining order to prevent an imminent risk to
the safety of the child or party; carry out the responsibilities child custody

recommending counselors/evaluators/mediators may have as mandated
reporters or to warn;

(d) to provide an interview to a court-appointed counsel for a child;

(e) to allow child custody recommending counselors/ evaluators/mediators to
investigate or disclose an actual or potential conflict of interest or dual
relationship; and/or

® to address complaints.
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Nothing in this rule shall prohibit the child custody evaluator from contacting either party
during the course of a child custody evaluation to fulfill the requirements of California
Rules of Court 5.220.

Any documents/information provided by one party and/or that party’s attorney to the
child custody recommending counselor/evaluator/mediator must also be provided to the
other party and/or their attorney(s). A proof of service form stating that the other party
was provided with copies of any information must be submitted to Family Court Services
with all documents served on the other party before review by the child custody
recommending counselor/evaluator/mediator.

K. CONFIDENTIALITY OF FAMILY COURT SERVICES PROCEEDINGS.

(1) In any family law proceeding involving the custody or visitation of minor children,
any written report or recommendation from the child custody recommending
counselor or child custody evaluator shall be confidential and unavailable to any
person except the court, the parties, their attorneys, expert witnesses and any person
to whom the court expressly grants access.

(@)

(b)

Pursuant to Family Code section 3111(d), if the court determines that an
unwarranted disclosure of a written confidential report has been made, the
court may impose a monetary sanction against the disclosing party.

Pursuant to Family Code section 3177, Family Court CRC/Voluntary
Mediation shall be held in private and shall be confidential. All
communications, verbal or written, from the parties to the Child Custody
Recommending Counselor/Mediator made in the proceedings are official
information within the meaning of Evidence Code section 1040. The
CCRC/Voluntary Mediation file is confidential.

If the case is referred for an evaluation/investigation by the court, the court-
connected child custody evaluator and/or court investigator shall have access
to the CCRC/Voluntary Mediation file.

(2) Exceptions to confidentiality:

()

(b)

Rev. 17/1/254

Nothing in this section shall prevent Family Court Services staff from
disclosing the existence of another court case involving the children at issue
or their parents, stepparents, or legal guardians for purposes of coordinating
court hearings and delivery of services.

Nothing in this section shall restrict Family Court Services staff from
complying with any law requiring reporting of child abuse and the fact that a
report was made or exists shall not be deemed confidential.
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() The fact that CCRC/Voluntary Mediation took place, the time and place of
that session, and the identities of participants shall not be deemed
confidential in a joint CCRC/Voluntary Mediation session. If a separate
CCRC/Voluntary Mediation session has occurred due to a history of violence
between the parties, the date and time of that session shall be deemed
confidential and parties are cautioned not to inform the other party of the date
and time set.

The fact that an agreement was or was not reached and the contents of any
signed, endorsed-filed agreement and/or order resulting from a
CCRC/Voluntary Mediation session shall not be deemed confidential.

L. COMPLAINT PROCEDURE.

All complaints raised in connection with Family Court Services shall be submitted in
writing to the Court Executive Officer for review and investigation if appropriate. All
complaints will receive a response in writing. The complaint forms shall be available to
the public at the court’s filing office.

Any request for a change of Child Custody Recommending Counselor or any complaints
relating to the Child Custody Recommending Counselor should be addressed to, and
must be received by, the Court Executive Officer no later than thirty (30) calendar days
after the Child Custody Recommending Counseling session. Requests or complaints
received after this time frame will not be considered.

All information contained in the complaint form will be made available to all parties and
the Child Custody Recommending Counselor involved in the case.

The Court Executive Officer will issue a written response to a complaint relating to the
Child Custody Recommending Counselor within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of
the complaint.

M. TIMELY ATTENDANCE, CANCELLATION AND SANCTIONS FOR FAILURE
TO ATTEND OR LATE CANCELLATION OF APPOINTMENT.

(a) Timely Attendance. The date and time for Child Custody Recommending
Counseling (CCRC) or Mediation will be set by the court. The CCRC/Mediation
appointment shall be considered a court date at which the parties are required to
appear. All parties must attend their scheduled CCRC/Mediation appointment on
time. Failure to attend at the scheduled date and time may result in the imposition of
a sanction of $100.00 on the absent party.

(b) Cancellation of Appointments. If an agreement is reached prior to the scheduled
CCRC/Mediation appointment, both parties and/or their attorneys must contact
Family Court Services to cancel the appointment and advise that an agreement has
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been reached. Notification must be provided no less than 48 hours before the
scheduled appointment. Failure to notify the Court within this timeframe may result
in a sanction of $100.00 imposed on each party for failing to attend the scheduled

appointment.

(c) Exigent Circumstances. If an exigent circumstance arises preventing a party from
attending the scheduled appointment, that party must contact Family Court Services
and the other parent no later than 4:00 PM on the day before the scheduled
appointment, providing an explanation and requesting to reschedule. Failure to
comply with this requirement may result in sanctions.

(d) Payment of Sanctions. Any sanctions imposed for failure to appear or cancel as
detailed herein must be remitted to the court before another appointment will be
scheduled. Fee waivers do not apply to sanctions imposed for failure to comply with
this rule.

(Effective 1/1/08, as amended: 1/1/13, 1/1/15, 7/1/19, 1/1/23, 7/1/23, 1/1/25)

12.2 SUPERVISED VISITATION.

A.

DEFINITION.

Contact between a non-custodial parent and one or more children in the presence of a
neutral third person.

PURPOSE.

A supervised visitation monitor may be ordered in child custody cases to protect the
health, safety, and welfare of the child(ren) while allowing the non-custodial party access
to their child(ren) in a secure environment.

UNIFORM STANDARDS OF PRACTICE FOR PROVIDERS OF SUPERVISED
VISITATION.

The standards of practice apply to all providers of supervised visitation, whether a
nonprofessional provider or a professional provider. The court considers whether to use a
professional or nonprofessional provider based upon the child’s best interest. The
professional and the nonprofessional provider must comply with and meet specific
qualifications specified in Family Code section 3200.5

The Uniform Standards of Practice can be found in its entirety in the California Rules of
Court, Standards of Judicial Administration, Section 5.20.

TYPE OF PROVIDER.
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Nonprofessional Provider: is a person who is not paid for providing supervised
visitation services.

Professional Provider: is any person who is paid for providing supervised
visitation services, or an independent contractor, employee, intern, or volunteer
operating independently or through a supervised visitation center or agency.

E. NON-PROFESSIONAL SUPERVISED PROVIDERS’ REQUIREMENTS.

Oy

2

€)

Before supervising a visitation, nonprofessional providers must sign and file with
the court Judicial Council Form FL-324(NP), Declaration of Supervised Visitation
Provider (Nonprofessional) stating that they have met all requirements to be a
nonprofessional provider.

Completed declaration forms may be submitted by mail or at the Clerk’s window at
the Hall of Justice, 2610 Riverside Drive, Susanville, CA 96130.

Nonprofessional providers are required to review Supervised Visitation - 4 Guide
for Non-Professional Providers published by the Judicial Council.

F. PROFESSIONAL SUPERVISED VISITATION PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS.

)

2

©))

(C))

S))

A professional provider must complete a Live Scan, register as a Trustline
provider, meet specific training requirements (California Rules of Court 5.20 (f)),
and file a completed Judicial Council Form FL-324(P), Declaration of Supervised
Visitation Provider (Professional) form with the court before providing supervised
visitation services.

The professional provider must sign a separate, updated form FL-324(P) each time
the professional provider submits a report to the court.

When any information contained in the Declaration of Supervised Visitation
Provider has changed, the provider must serve an updated version on all parties,
their attorneys, and the child’s attorney, and then file with the court within five
days of the change in information.

Completed declaration forms may be submitted by mail or at the Clerk’s window at
the Hall of Justice, 2610 Riverside Drive, Susanville, CA 96130.

The professional provider must produce a report about the supervised visitation if
ordered by the court or when a parent or attorney requests it or an attorney for the
child. Providers should send copies to all parties, their attorneys, and the attorney
for the child.

G. DUTIES OF PARTIES AND PROVIDERS.
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(1) The court does not screen, endorse, evaluate, or monitor supervised visitation
service providers. The parties must investigate and know that a professional or
nonprofessional provider meets the statutory qualifications, training, and
continuing education requirements.

(2) Inthe event a provider becomes ineligible to provide services for any reason, the
provider must immediately contact all parties, their attorneys, and the child’s

attorney, and must state, in writing, the reasons the provider is no longer eligible.

Within five days of receipt of the provider’s written notice of ineligibility, the
parties must file with the court a declaration containing all pertinent information
related to the provider’s disqualification.

(Effective 7/1/22, renumbered 1/1/23)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 13

STANDARDS FOR COURT APPOINTED COUNSEL FOR
MINOR CHILDREN IN FAMILY LAW PROCEEDINGS

A. PURPOSE OF APPOINTMENT AS COUNSEL FOR A CHILD IN FAMILY LAW
PROCEEDINGS.

Pursuant to Family Code section 3150(a), if the court determines that it would be in the
best interest of the minor child, the court may appoint private counsel to represent the
interests of the child in a custody or visitation proceeding.

B. BASIC ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR APPOINTMENT.
To be eligible for appointment as counsel for a child, counsel must:
(1) Be an active member in good standing of the State Bar of California;

(2) Have professional liability insurance or demonstrate to the court that he or she is
adequately self-insured; and

(3) Meet the education, experience, and continuing education requirements of this rule.

C. EDUCATION, EXPERIENCE AND CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIREMENTS.

(1) Education. Prior to appointment as counsel for a child in a family law proceeding,
counsel must have completed within one (1) year prior to submitting a statement of
compliance at least 12 hours of applicable education and training which must
include all of the following subjects:

(a) Statutes, rules of court, and case law relating to child custody and visitation
litigation;

(b) Representation of a child in custody and visitation proceedings; and

(©) Stages of child development; communicating with children at various stages
of development; recognizing and understanding the effects of child abuse,
neglect, and family violence on children; and how to work effectively with
multidisciplinary experts.

No more than six (6) hours of the initial training may be self-verified self-study
education. The attorney’s own record of self-study must include, as appropriate, the titles
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and providers of material used, the amount of hours claimed for the education activities,
and the dates on which the attorney engaged in the activities.

(2) Experience. Court appointed counsel for minor children under this rule must have
represented a party or a child in at least six (6) proceedings involving child custody
within the preceding five (5) years as follows:

(@)

(b)

At least two (2) of the six (6) proceedings must have involved contested child
custody and visitation issues in family law; and

No more than three (3) of the six (6) proceedings can involve child custody
proceedings in dependency or guardianship cases.

(3) Continuing education. Court appointed counsel for minor children under this rule
must complete during each calendar year a minimum of eight (8) hours of
applicable education and training of the subjects listed in California Rules of Court,
rule 5.242(c).

(4) Compliance with appointment requirements.

(@)

(b)

(©)
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Prior to becoming eligible for appointment as counsel for minor children,
attorneys satisfying the preliminary educational and experience requirements
must submit to the court a statement of compliance in the form of a
declaration indicating compliance with the requirements of this rule. Counsel
must use form FL-322, Declaration of Counsel for a Child Regarding
Qualifications for this purpose.

On or before February 28 on the third year after the year in which the
attorney is first certified and then every third year thereafter, attorneys
eligible for family law appointment must submit a new statement of
compliance. The new statement of compliance must include a statement that
the attorney has completed an annual minimum of eight (8) hours per year of
applicable education and training. Form FL-322, Declaration of Counsel for
a Child Regarding Qualifications, must be used for the purpose of submitting
a new statement of compliance. As evidence of completing the minimum of
eight (8) hours per year of continuing education required by this rule, the
attorney shall attach certificates of completion to the new statement of
compliance. Certificates of completion must include the name of the courses,
course descriptions, where courses were offered, number of hours of training
attended, dates of the training, and the names of the training providers.

The court will maintain and make available to the public a list of those
attorneys who have submitted a statement of compliance from which counsel
will be appointed, and shall appoint counsel from said list. The list must
contain the name, address, telephone number of the attorney, and the date of
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receipt of the attorney’s statement of compliance. Attorneys failing to timely
submit a statement of compliance with continuing education requirements by
February 28" of the year in which it is due will be notified by the court that
he or she will be decertified. The attorney shall be permitted to have 20 days
from the day of mailing of the notice to submit evidence of his or her
completion of the required training or education. If the attorney fails to
submit the required evidence, the attorney will be removed from the
eligibility list maintained by the court

D. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF COUNSEL FOR A CHILD.

Oy

2

Rights. Counsel representing a child has rights relating to the representation of a
child’s best interest under Family Code sections 3111, 3151, 3151.5, 3153, and
Welfare and Institutions Code section 827.

Responsibilities of counsel for a child. Counsel representing a child is charged
with representing the best interest of the child. The role of the child’s counsel is to
gather evidence that bear on the best interest of the child and to present that
admissible evidence, in addition to the child’s wishes if the child so desires, to the
court in any manner deemed appropriate by the child’s counsel. Counsel’s duties
include those under Family Code section 3151(a)-(b) and California Rules of
Court, rule 5.242:

(a) Interviewing the child;

(b) Reviewing the court files and all accessible relevant records available to both

parties;

(c)  Making any further investigations that counsel considers necessary to
ascertain the evidence relevant to the custody or visitation hearings;

(d) Participating in the proceeding to the degree necessary to adequately

represent the child; and
(e)  Ifthe child is called to testify in the proceeding:

(i) Allowing the child to state a preference regarding custody or
visitation, informing the parties about the child’s desire to provide
input, and establishing procedures in furtherance of the child’s
participation;

(ii) Appropriately advising the child about the court process, including
confidentiality limitations and the possibility of a court record of the
testimony which may be provided to other parties.

(Effective 1/1/09, as amended 1/1/13)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 14

QUALIFICATIONS AND CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED OF
COUNSEL APPOINTED BY THE COURT IN GUARDIANSHIP AND
CONSERVATORSHIP PROCEEDINGS

A. BASIC ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.

Each counsel in private practice appointed by the court to represent a minor in a
guardianship proceeding and each counsel in private practice appointed by the court to
represent a conservatee or proposed conservatee in a conservatorship proceeding must be
an active member of the State Bar of California for at least three (3) years immediately
preceding the date of appointment. Counsel must have no disciplinary proceedings
pending, and no discipline imposed, within the twelve (12) months immediately
preceding the date of the first availability for appointment.

Private counsel must be covered by professional liability insurance satisfactory to the
court in the amount of at least $100,000 per claim and $300,000 per year.

B. QUALIFICATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT.

(1) Appointments to represent minors in a guardianship proceeding. Counsel may
qualify to represent minors in a probate guardianship proceeding if the following
requirements are met:

(a) Within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date of first availability
for appointment, counsel has represented at least: three (3) wards or proposed
wards in probate guardianships, three (3) children in juvenile court
dependency or delinquency proceedings, or three (3) children in custody
proceedings under the Family Code.

OR

(b) Qualifying for appointments to represent minor children in juvenile
dependency proceedings under this court’s Local Rule 3 or qualifying for
appointments to represent children in custody proceedings under California
Rules of Court, Rule 5.242 and this court’s Local Rule 13.

Except as provided in section B(3) of this rule, counsel qualifying for appointment in
probate guardianship proceedings under section B(1)(b) of this rule must satisfy the
continuing education requirements under this rule as well as the continuing education
rules for representing children in juvenile dependency proceedings or for representing
children in family law proceedings under Local Rule 13.
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(2) Appointments to represent conservatees or proposed conservatees in a
conservatorship proceeding. Counsel in private practice may qualify to represent
conservatees or proposed conservatees in conservatorship proceedings if, within
five (5) years immediately preceding the date of first availability for appointment,
if the following requirements are met:

(a) Counsel has represented at least three (3) conservatees or proposed
conservatees in either probate or Lanterman-Petris-Short (LPS)
conservatorships.

OR
(b) Completed any three (3) of the following five (5) tasks:

(i) Represented petitioners for the appointment of a conservator in at
least three (3) probate conservatorship proceedings, with
representation commencing upon initial contact with the petitioner
through the hearing and issuance of letters of conservatorship;

(ii) Represented a petitioner, a conservatee or a proposed conservatee,
or an interested third party in at least two (2) contested probate or
LPS conservatorship matters. A contested matter that qualifies under
this item and also qualifies under (i) may be applied toward
satisfaction of both items;

(iii) Represented a party for whom the court could appoint legal counsel
in at least three (3) matters described in Probate Code sections 1470,
1471, 1954, 2356.5, 2357, 2620.2, 3140, or 3205;

(iv) Represented fiduciaries in the settlement of a court-filed account and
report in at least three (3) separate cases involving any combination
of probate conservatorships or guardianships, decedent’s estates, or
trust proceedings under division 9 of the Probate Code, and in which
said representation continued through filing, hearing, and settlement
of the case; or

(v) Prepared at least five (5) wills or trusts, five (5) durable powers of
attorney for health care, and five (5) durable powers of attorney for
asset management.

(3) Optional waiver of qualifications under this section. This court, as a court with
fewer than four (4) authorized judges, reserves the right to waive the qualification
requirements in A and B of this section in accordance with California Rules of
Court, rule 7.1101(e)(1).

C. CONTINUING EDUCATION.
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Except as provided in section B(1) of this rule, counsel appointed by the court must
complete three (3) hours of education each calendar year which qualify for
mandatory continuing legal education credit required by the State Bar for attorneys
certified as specialists in estate planning, trust, and probate law.

Counsel who are qualified to represent minors in probate guardianship proceedings
under section B(1)(b) of this rule, and who are appointed to represent minors in
guardianships of the person only, may satisfy the continuing education
requirements of this rule by satisfying the continuing education requirements for
representing children in juvenile dependency proceedings under this court’s Local
Rule 3 or by satisfying the continuing education requirements for representing
children in custody proceedings under this court’s Local Rule 13.

D. CERTIFICATION OF QUALIFICATIONS AND CONTINUING EDUCATION.

Each counsel must certify to the court that he or she is qualified for appointment prior to
establishing eligibility for appointment under this rule. Each appointed counsel must
certify to the court before March 31 of each year that he or she has completed the
required continuing education for the preceding calendar year. Certifications required
under this subdivision must be submitted to the court, but will not be filed or lodged in a
case file. Judicial Council Form GC-010, Certification of Attorney Concerning
Qualifications for Court Appointment in Conservatorships/Guardianships, must be used
for satisfying the requirement of this rule.

(Effective 7/1/09, as amended 1/1/13)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 15

COURT SECURITY, CONDUCT AND COMPLAINT PROCESS

15.1 SECURITY.

Security relating to all matters in all courtrooms, facilities, and grounds of the Lassen
Superior Court shall be maintained by the Lassen County Sheriff following the
established security plan.

(Effective 7/1/22, as amended 7/1/24)
15.2 WEAPONS IN COURT FACILITIES WITH PENAL CODE SECTION 171b-.

(a) All persons are required to comply with Penal Code Section 171b. No person shall
bring or possess any weapon as defined in Penal Code Section 171b into a court
facility. Exceptions are:

1. Weapons possessed or in transport to be used as evidence in a court of law with
picture identification and appropriate proof. Weapons that can be locked must
have locks on them.

2. Weapons possessed by Peace Officers carrying out official duties who are
uniformed or non-uniformed.

(b) Peace Officers who are not parties to any court proceeding and who wish to bring
weapons into any courtroom shall identify themselves to the Courtroom Bailiff and
obtain permission from the bailiff to bring the weapon into the Courtroom.

(¢) No person (including Peace Officers) shall carry a weapon into any Court facility
when appearing in Court in which they are a party to the case.

(Effective 7/1/22, as amended 7/1/24)

15.3 DRESS POLICY.
All persons who appear in any courtroom shall dress appropriately. The bailiff on duty,
under the supervision of the Judge presiding in that courtroom, has the authority to

enforce this rule and exclude persons with inappropriate attire from entering the
courtroom.

(Effective 7/1/22)
15.4 RESTRICTED AREAS.
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The workstations for courtroom clerks and all judges’ benches and chambers are
reserved for the exclusive use of the court staff. Everyone else is prohibited from
entrance into these areas unless directed to enter by court personnel.

Court staff shall be responsible for enforcing these rules by requesting anyone other
than court personnel to leave any restricted area. Bailiffs may remove individuals
who violate this directive and report violations to the Presiding Judge.

(Effective 7/1/22)

15.5 RECORDING EQUIPMENT PROHIBITED.

(@)

(b)

(©)

Prohibited Activities. Photographing, videotaping, televising, or otherwise recording
any court proceeding is prohibited unless a written request has been filed and
approved by the Judge presiding at the proceeding prior to the commencement of
the proceeding. No one may use a camera, camera-phone, or electronic device with
a camera to transmit, record, or take pictures in any portion of the courthouse except
as permitted by these rules and California Rules of Court 1.150.

Members of the Media. Members of the media shall meet with the Court Executive
Officer, or his or her designee, prior to operating media equipment in common areas
of the courthouse.

Prohibition Against Visual Displays, Banners, Flags, Photographs. No person
present at a court proceeding may display any buttons, flags, signs, images, or
otherwise, that might prejudice the court or jury or undermine the security or
decorum of the proceeding. The bailiff on duty, under the supervision of the Judge,
shall have the authority to enforce these rules.

(Effective 7/1/22)

15.6

USE OF LAPTOP COMPUTERS AND ELECTRONIC DEVICES.

All computers and electronic devices, including but not limited to cell phones, pagers,
and personal digital assistants shall be turned off before entering the courtroom. If a
laptop computer or electronic device is necessary for a matter at issue, it may be used
only if expressly authorized by the sitting judge at the hearing. An electronic device shall
not be handled in any way as to indicate a picture, audio or video recording is being
taken. Enforcement is in the sole discretion of the sitting judge. Violators are subject to
contempt of court and/or confiscation of the computer or device.

(Effective 7/1/22)

15.7 BIAS INFORMAL COMPLAINT POLICY.

Local Rules of Court

Rev.17/1/254 www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov 77



Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

(a) General. To preserve the integrity and impartiality of the judicial system, the Court
shall:

Ensure fairness. Ensure that courtroom proceedings are conducted in a manner
that is fair and impartial to all of the participants.

Refrain from and prohibit biased conduct. In all courtroom proceedings,
refrain from engaging in conduct and prohibit others from engaging in conduct
that exhibits bias based on race, religion, ethnicity, national origin,
socioeconomic status, disability, age, gender, or sexual orientation, including
whether that bias is directed toward counsel, court personnel, witnesses, parties,
jurors, or any other participants.

(b) Notice of Concern Process. If an individual has a concern about compliance with
the mandates set forth above in subsection (a) by the Court or by any courtroom
participant, then:

Rev. 17/1/254

The individual may submit a written Notice of Concern to the Presiding Judge
or Court Executive Officer, which identifies all courtroom participants and the
specific behavior or conduct occurring in the courtroom of concern;

The intent of the Notice of Concern procedure is to educate all parties with the
purpose of ameliorating the concern rather than disciplining the person who is
the subject of the notice;

To the extent possible and unless disclosure is required by law, the Court shall
protect the confidentiality of the noticing party, the person who is the subject of
the notice, and other interested persons;

The focus of this Local Rule is on incidents of concern:

(i) Bias based on race, religion ethnicity, national origin, socioeconomic
status, disability, age, gender, or sexual orientation;

(ii) Whether that bias is directed toward counsel, court personnel,
witnesses, parties, jurors, or any other participants; and

(iii)  Where the incident does not warrant discipline but requires education
and correction.

Courtroom activities constituting legitimate advocacy when matters of race,
religion, ethnicity, national origin, socioeconomic status, disability, age, gender,
or sexual orientation which are relevant to issues in the courtroom proceeding
are exempt from this Notice of Concern procedure.
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(¢) Formal Complaint Process

1. With respect to any incident that if substantiated would warrant discipline
against a judge, the concerned individual may file a formal complaint with the
Commission on Judicial Performance;

2. Nothing in this procedure in any way shall limit the ability of any person to
submit a formal complaint of misconduct regarding any courtroom participant
to the Commission on Judicial Performance or the appropriate disciplinary
body.

3. A formal complaint about a courtroom participant should be sent as follows:

(i) A Superior Court Judge
TO: The Commission on Judicial Performance (CJP)
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 14400
San Francisco, California 94102
Website: https://cjp.ca.gov/file_a complaint/

(ii) A Superior Court Commissioner or Court Executive Officer
TO: Presiding Judge
Lassen Superior Court
2610 Riverside Drive
Susanville, California 96130

(iii) A Member of Court Staff or Court Contractor
TO: Court Executive Officer
Lassen Superior Court
2610 Riverside Drive
Susanville, California 96130

(iv)  An Attorney
TO: State Bar of California
100 Howard Street
San Francisco, California 94105
Website: www.calbar.ca.gov/Public/Complaints-Claims

V) A Courtroom Bailiff
TO: Lassen County Sheriff’s Office
1415 Sheriff Cady Lane
Susanville, California 96130

(Effective 7/1/22, as amended 1/1/24)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 16

PRIVATELY RETAINED OFFICIAL COURT
REPORTER PRO TEMPORE

A. PURPOSE. A party has the right to arrange, at the party’s own expense, for the services
of a court reporter if the services of an official court reporter are not available for a
proceeding. (Government Code Section 68086 and California Rules of Court, rule 2.956).
This document established the policy for a party arranging for a privately retained court
reporter when an official court reporter is not available and established requirements for
qualifying as an official reporter pro tempore.

B. APPLICATION OF THIS POLICY. This policy applies to hearings and trials in the
Civil, Family, and Probate Divisions in unlimited civil matters, limited civil matters to
the extent not electronically recorded, and probate matters. Court reporters will be
provided by the Court in all mandated proceedings, including in the following cases:
criminal — felony; juvenile dependency; juvenile delinquency; and family law matters
where an official court reporter is mandated, such as requests to withdraw consent to an
adoption, child testimony in chambers, and petitions to free a minor from parental care
and control.

C. POLICY.

(1) Ifthe services of an official court reporter are not available for a proceeding, a
party may privately arrange for court reporter services at the party’s own expense,
pursuant to Government Code Section 68086 and California Rules of Court, rule
2.956.

(2) A party must make arrangements for a privately retained court reporter in advance
of the proceeding if the party wishes the proceedings to be reported. Parties
retaining a reporter must file form LSC-MIS-200, Request for Appointment of
Official Reporter Pro Tempore with the court at least 5 days prior to the hearing
unless the Court orders otherwise. If the judicial officer has not received the
Request in time to approve it before the hearing, the Court has the discretion to
deny the request.

(a) When a party arranges for a reporter, the reporter must be appointed as an
official reporter pro tempore before the hearing begins. Every reporter must
complete and sign sections 1, 2, and 3 of the LSC-MIS-200, Request for
Appointment of Official Reporter Pro Tempore.

(b) The Judicial Officer must sign the order appointing the reporter as an official
reporter pro tempore, using the LSC-MIS-200, Request for Appointment of
Official Reporter Pro Tempore, before the reporter may report the
proceeding.

Local Rules of Court
Rev.17/1/254 www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov 80


https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf

Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

(3) By signing the Request for Appointment of Official Reporter Pro Tempore, the
reporter agrees to the following:

()

(b)

(©)
(d)

(e)

®

(@

(h)

)

1)

The reporter has a valid, current California Certified Shorthand Reporter
License and is in good standing with the Court Reporters Board of California.

The reporter is not a current full-time employee of the court and appointment
as an Official Reporter Pro Tempore will not interfere with the reporter’s
obligations as a court employee.

The reporter will provide current contact information with the court.

All fees for reporting services, including appearance, transcript, and real-time
fees, are the responsibility of the party or parties who arranged for the
reporter services and may not be charged to the court.

The reporter will comply with statutes and rules applicable to official
reporters pro tempore, including the duty to timely prepare transcripts,
including those for appeals, in the proper form.

The reporter will demonstrate the highest standards of ethics and impartiality
in the performance of his/her duties.

The reporter will comply with the court’s requirements regarding uploading
electronic archiving of notes within 48 hours of the date of the proceedings
except in extenuating circumstances and is approved in advance by the
Operations Supervisor or make other arrangements if the only notes are in
paper form.

The reporter will follow directions from the court and will be subject to the
jurisdiction of the court to the same extent as an official reporter.

The reporter will be available for read-back of notes taken during a jury trial
within 30 minutes of the court’s request.

If providing real-time reporting or other litigation support services, the
reporter is responsible for providing and connecting the necessary equipment.

(4) Additional Information for Parties and Reporters

()
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Only One Official Record. There can be only one official record of court
proceedings, and only a reporter appointed by the court may report a court
proceeding. (Code of Civil Procedure Section 273; Government Code
Sections 70043 and 70044; Redwing v. Moncravie (1934) 138 Cal. App.
432,434.) Only one reporter will be allowed to report a court proceeding at
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(©)

(Effective 7/1/22)
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any given time. If the parties cannot agree on a reporter, the judicial officer
will make the selection. The transcript may not be modified except on court

order.

Payment for Official Reporter Pro Tempore Services. The party arranging
for an official reporter pro tempore is responsible for paying the reporter’s
fees, although the parties may arrange to share the fees at terms the parties
negotiate. (California Rules of Court, rule 2.956(c).) All fees must be paid
directly to the court reporter.

Transcripts.

(@

(i)

(iii)

The judicial officer may order any party who arranges for the
transcription of proceedings by the official reporter pro tempore to
lodge a copy of the transcript with the court. (Code of Civil
Procedure Section 128(a).)

Transcripts produced by an official reporter pro tempore will be
treated, for court purposes, identically to transcripts prepared by
official reporters. Reporting notes of an official reporter pro tempore
are official records of the court. (Government Code Section
69955(a).) The notes of an official reporter pro tempore, when
transcribed and certified, are prima facie evidence of the testimony
and proceedings. (Code of Civil Procedure Section 273(a).)

Certified transcripts are admissible as evidence to the extent
otherwise permitted by law. Transcripts prepared by a privately
retained certified shorthand reporter appointed by the court as an
official reporter pro tempore are admissible as evidence to the extent
otherwise permitted by law. (Code of Civil Procedure Section
273(a).)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 17

FACSIMILE (FAX) FILING

17.1 CIVIL, PROBATE, AND FAMILY LAW FAX FILING.

(@

(b)

(©)

(d)

(e)

4

The Lassen Superior Court hereby adopts rule 2.300 et seq. of the California Rules
of Court, allowing for the facsimile filing of civil, probate, and family law
documents.

A party may file by fax directly with the court using the facsimile number(s) which
are available on the court’s website www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

The first sheet transmitted shall be the Judicial Council Facsimile Transmission
Cover Sheet (form MC-005.) Notwithstanding a Fee Waiver, credit card information
must be included on the cover sheet including the 3 or 4 digit security code. For
purposes of facsimile filings in this court, the Telephone No and E-Mail Address
fields on the cover sheet are deemed required. All applicable fees will be charged to
the credit card provided on the cover sheet.

Documents received by the court on or before 4:00 PM PST, on a court business
day, will be file stamped with the court date received. Documents received after
4:00 PM PST will be file stamped received the following court business day.

A filing is considered to be received at the time the last page of the document is
received.

In addition to other fees imposed by law, a party filing by fax directly with the court
shall pay a fee of $1.00 for each page of the paper.

If the credit/debit card issuing company rejects the charge, the court may call the
filing party to seek alternate payment and/or mail a Notice of Return. If a document
is rejected for filing due to missing or partial pages, facial defects, or other reasons,
the entire document must be re-submitted, including the cover sheet. The court may
call to notify the filing party of the rejection and/or mail a Notice of Return.

Upon approval and acceptance of the filing, a receipt of payment will be delivered
to the e-mail address in the upper section of the JC Form MC-005. Confirmation of
receipt beyond that given by the standard confirmation option of the filing party's
fax machine is not provided.

If return of a conformed copy of the filed document(s) is required, you may add this

request on the JC Form MC-005. The court will add the applicable processing
and/or mailing fees.
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(Effective 1/1/23)

17.2 JUVENILE DEPENDENCY FAX FILING.

(@)

(b)

(©)

The Lassen Superior Court hereby adopts rule 5.522 of the California Rules of
Court, allowing certain persons and agencies to file specified Juvenile Dependency
documents by facsimile filing with the court.

Those persons and agencies as defined in Rule 5.522(c) CRC may file by fax
directly with the court using the Juvenile facsimile number(s) which are available on
the court’s website www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

Each document must be accompanied by Judicial Council form Facsimile Filing
Cover Sheet — Juvenile (JV-520), which shall be the first page transmitted.

Documents received by the court on or before 4:00 PM PST, on a court business
day, will be file stamped with the court date received. Documents received after
4:00 PM PST will be file stamped received the following court business day.

A filing is considered to be received at the time the last page of the document is
received.

(Effective 1/1/23)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 18

ELECTRONIC FILING

PILOT PROJECT — LIMITED eDELIVERY FILINGS

To enable the Court to evaluate the feasibility and effectiveness of instituting direct
electronic filing of court documents, a pilot project permitting the limited filing of
documents under certain conditions will be allowed. Any electronic filing other than that
as authorized by Rule 18.1 will be rejected and will not be accepted by the Clerk.

(@)

(b)

(©)

(d)

(e)

In the initial phase of this pilot project, filings will be accepted from the Lassen
County Department of Child Support Services and as applicable to the processes
outlined in Rules 1(V) and 10(J).

A pilot project participant may electronically deliver (eDeliver) filings to the court
by using the processes and procedures available on the court’s website
www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

Upon receipt of an eDelivered document, the court will promptly send a
confirmation of receipt of the document indicating the date and time of receipt to the
party or person who submitted the document.

If the document received complies with filing requirements and all required filing
fees have been paid, the court will send confirmation that the document has been
filed to the party or person who submitted the document.

If the clerk of the court does not file a document received by the court because the
document does not comply with applicable filing requirements or the required filing
fee has not been paid, the court will send notice of the rejection of the document for
filing to the party or person who submitted the document. The notice of rejection
will state the reasons that the document was rejected for filing and include the date
the clerk of the court sent the notice.

(Effective 7/1/23)
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RULE OF COURT NO. 19

GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE

These rules detail certain general, procedural, judicial, and administrative rules of the Lassen

Superior Court.

19.1 AUTHORITY AND DUTIES OF THE PRESIDING JUDGE

General responsibilities. With the assistance of the Court Executive Officer, the
Presiding Judge is responsible for leading the court, establishing policies, and allocating
resources in a manner that promotes access to justice for all members of the public,
provides a forum for the fair and expeditious resolution of disputes, maximizes the uses
of judicial and other resources, increases efficiency in court operations, and enhances
service to the public. The Presiding Judge is responsible for:

(@)

(b)

(©)

Ensuring the effective management and administration of the court,
consistent with any rules, policies, strategic plan, or budget adopted by the
Judicial Council or the court;

Ensuring that the duties of all judges specified under California Rules of
Court, Rule 10.608 are timely and orderly performed; and

Ensuring that the court has adopted written policies and procedures allowing
the Presiding Judge to perform efficiently the administrative duties of that
office.

Authority. The Presiding Judge has the authority to:

(@)
(b)

(©)
(d)
(e)
®

()]

Assign judges to departments and designate supervising judges for divisions,
districts, or branch courts;

Apportion the business of the court, including assigning and reassigning
cases to departments;

Call meetings of the judges;
Appoint standing and special committees of judges;
Act as the spokesperson for the court;

Authorize and direct expenditures from the court’s Trial Court Operating
Fund; and

Perform all acts necessary to accomplish the duties specified by the rules of
court.

No local rule or policy may limit the authority of the Presiding Judge as granted in the
Rules of Court.
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Duties. The Presiding Judge has the duty to:

(h) Make all judicial assignments;
(i)  Adopt a process for judicial schedules;
G) Supervise and monitor submitted cases;
(k) Provide oversight of judicial officers;
(1)) Provide general direction and supervisions of the Court Executive Officer;
(m) Engage in budget and financial management;
(n) Schedule and assign judicial meetings and committees;
(0) Act as liaison;
(p) Participate in court planning;
()] Ensure that appellate records are prepared timely; and

(r) Prepare local rules.

Delegation. The Presiding Judge may delegate any of the specific duties listed in this rule
to another judge, or if the duty does not require the exercise of judicial authority, to the
Court Executive Office.

(Effective 7/1/24)

19.2

JUDICIAL TIME OFF

The Court Executive Officer is designated as the responsible party for recording judicial
officer time off. The Court Executive Officer shall inform the Presiding Judge of any
time off conflicts or scheduled time off that is inconsistent with the orderly operation of
the court.

(a) Vacation. A day of vacation for a judge of the Superior Court of California, County
of Lassen, is a pre-approved absence from the court for one full normal scheduled
court business day. The performance by a judge of a judicial duty taking two hours
or less on a pre-approved vacation day does not entitle the judge to an additional
day of vacation. Other absences from the court listed in California Rules of Court,
Rule 10.603(c)(2)(H) are excluded from this definition.

The total number of vacation days allowable pursuant to California Rules of Court,
Rule 10.603(c)(2)(E) will be determined on January 1 of the year in which the
vacation is given. Judges who reach milestones in their years of service will receive
their additional vacation days as of January 1 of each calendar year. (Example:
Where the 14-year anniversary falls on August 7, 2023, thirty days of vacation
would be allowed effective January 1, 2024.) Vacation will be determined as
follows:
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(i) 24 days for judges with less than 7 years of service as a California
judge;

(ii) 27 days for judges with at least 7 but not less than 14 years of service
as a California judge; and

(iii) 30 days for judges with 14 or more years of service as a California
judge.

Retiring judges will be prorated according to the month in which they retire.

New judges will be prorated according to the month in which the oath of office was
taken, determined as follows: January, 24 days; February, 22 days; March, 20 days;
April, 18 days; May, 16 days; June, 14 days; July, 12 days; August, 10 days;
September, 8 days; October, 6 days; November, 4 days; and December, 2 days.

Pursuant to California Rules of Court, Rule 10.603(c)(2)(G) a judge may not carry
forward more than 30 vacation days from year to year.

(b) Personal time. Each judge will receive 2 personal leave days on January 1 of each
year. Personal leave days may not be carried forward into the next year.

(Effective 7/1/24)

19.3 ANCILLARY CRIMINAL DEFENSE EXPENSES

Ancillary Services. The right to ancillary services arises only when an indigent
defendant demonstrates that funds are “reasonably necessary” for his or her defense.
(Corenevsky v Superior Court (1984) 23 C3d 307)

(@)

(b)

Rev. 17/1/254

Scope. This rule establishes the requirements for the payment of reasonably
necessary expenses that appointed counsel and self-represented litigants incur
in defending persons who are indigent.

This rule will refer to these reasonably necessary expenses as “ancillary
defense expenses.” All funds expended for ancillary defense expenses must
have prior approval by Court order.

Funds approved for specific purpose, moreover, may not be expended for
another use without prior Court approval.

Required Submission. All initial applications for the authorization of
ancillary defense expenses shall be submitted by ex parte motion to the Clerk
of the Court. The application shall be accompanied by a declaration with the
information described in subsection C below.
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The application and supporting declarations shall be marked “Confidential,”
and shall be kept in a confidential section of the Court file.

Required Declaration. All applications for ancillary defense expenses shall
be supported by a declaration setting forth:

(i) A summary of the circumstances of the charged offense or facts that
demonstrates why funding of ancillary defense expenses is
necessary in the interests of justice;

(ii) The status of the case;

(iii) The specific purpose for the funds, including the nature of the
services to be rendered and an explanation why those services are
reasonably necessary for the defense of the case; and

(iv) The name and title of each appointed service provider (investigator,
expert, or other) for whom funds are being sought, the hourly rate
and maximum amount expected to be charged for the service, travel-
related expenses other than mileage, and any other special expenses.

(v) Counsel and self-represented defendants seeking the services of
multiple experts relating to a single or common issue must
demonstrate a compelling necessity for such use of multiple experts.
In addition, counsel and self-represented defendants must include in
the request for reimbursement a representation that the rate
requested:

a. does not exceed the investigator’s or expert’s customary
rates for services performed, and

b. does not exceed local prevailing rates for the services
performed.

If a self-represented defendant has not suggested a particular investigator, the
Court will select one.

The maximum hourly billing rates, as well as the maximum initial
authorizations, for all investigators and legal runners shall be set by the
Presiding Judge of the Superior Court. Legal runner services, when approved
by the Court, are limited to photocopying, and transporting materials, orders,
and motions. Visits and phone calls to the County’s detention centers must be
associated with an allowable billable activity and will be subject to the
Court’s discretion.

Travel Expenses. The court will determine the reasonableness and necessity
of travel expenses on a case-by-case basis. Travel expenses are not
considered necessary when the purpose of the trip may reasonably be
accomplished in another way, such as by video meeting, telephone, or
correspondence. Further, counsel should use the least expensive alternative
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means of travel. For motor vehicles, the mileage rate is the prevailing amount
established by the Judicial Council of California.

(i) No funds may be expended for overnight travel by investigators,
experts, or others without prior court approval. Pre-approved hourly
investigation expenses may not be applied to overnight or airline
travel costs unless expressly designated by the Court for travel after
an appropriate request.

(ii) Applications that include a request for travel expenses to interview
witnesses must contain, in addition to the requirements above, a
declaration setting forth:

a. The relevance and materiality of the witness’ proposed
testimony;

b. An explanation as to why a telephone interview or an
interview conducted remotely would not suffice;

c. An explanation as to why it would not be practical to utilize
the services of an investigator in the area where the witness
lives;

d. Whether it would be feasible to fly the witness to the Reno-
Tahoe International Airport for an interview, with a return
flight the same day, to avoid the expense of overnight
travel for the investigator; and

e. A representation that the applicant has endeavored to
secure the lowest possible airfare.

When travel is required by appointed counsel or a person authorized to assist
appointed counsel, reasonable and necessary meals and lodging may be
claimed.

No funds may be expended for travel nor per diem without prior approval
from the court.

Expenses for Medical and Mental Health Professionals. On initial
applications requesting authorization for expenses for doctors, psychologists,
psychiatrists, and similar experts, the maximum amount allowed by the court
will be an amount sufficient to procure an initial written report from the
expert. This report should describe the need, if any, for further services at an
approved rate. The defense must endeavor to negotiate the lowest hourly rate.
If the defense retains an expert located more than 175 miles from the Lassen
Superior Court, the declaration shall explain in detail why local experts could
not be employed to provide similar services. Expenses for supplemental
reports by experts or investigators may not be paid by the Court prior Court
approval.
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® Additional Funding. After the initial funding approved by declaration
described in subsection C above has been exhausted, no additional work may
be performed or compensated without first obtaining Court approval by
submitting a supplemental funding request under this subsection. Each
application for additional funding for a previously authorized service
provider (investigator, expert, or other) shall state, in the heading of the
pleading, that it is a supplemental request, and shall include a declaration
setting forth:

(i) The date and amount of previous funding authorizations for the
service provider;

(ii) The amount of any billings for services completed by the service
provider and a general summary of those completed services;

(iii) The remaining balance from funds previously authorized for the
service provider;

(iv) A detailed description of the services remaining to be performed.

Any additional request for the services of an expert must be accompanied by
a report or declaration of the expert explaining the need for additional
services.

() Claims for the Payment of Ancillary Defense Expenses. Claims for the
payment of ancillary defense expenses must have prior Court authorization as
described above; without prior authorization, claims will not be paid. Claims
for payment of ancillary defense expenses shall be submitted to the Lassen
Superior Court, Attn: Clerk of the Court, 2610 Riverside Drive, Susanville,
California 96130, and shall comply with the requirements of the Clerk of
Court, including any requirements for supporting documents.

(Effective 7/1/24)

19.4 APPOINTED ATTORNEY FEES.

This rule governs all appointed attorney fees, except for those related to Department 5,
Prison Appointed Attorney Fees. For supplemental fees, rules, and procedures specific to
Department 5, refer to Rule 19.4.1

(a) Fees for Private Appointed Conflict Public Defenders. Private appointed indigent
criminal defense and juvenile counsel assigned by the Lassen Superior Court shall
be compensated as follows:

For First Degree Murder defense: $125.00 per hour
For “Three Strike” (25 to Life) defense: $115.00 per hour
For all other Felony defense: $100.00 per hour
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For all Juvenile Delinquency defense: $90.00 per hour
For all Misdemeanor defense: $90.00 per hour

For Writs: $90.00 per hour

For Civil Contempt: $90.00 per hour

For Misdemeanor Appeals: $90.00 per hour

For CARE Court: $90.00 per hour

All counsel submitting fee claims shall give due regard in computing the time and
amount thereof to the guidance of Penal Code § 987.2, where it is provided that an
assigned attorney “... shall receive a reasonable sum for compensation and for
necessary expenses, the amount of which shall be determined by the court...”

Counsel accepting appointment under this rule shall do so with clear understanding
that the court will make an independent determination of the necessity and
justification for hours spent; and may reduce a claim for hours found not to be
reasonably necessary for the representation of the defendant or spent on unfounded
motions or procedures. In reviewing fee claims, the court will consider the time
spent and amount claimed with reference to the following:

@) Customary fees in the locality.

(i) Time reasonably required for the matter.
(iii)  Difficulty of the defense.

(iv)  Unusual legal issues dealt with.

\%) Degree of professional skill and experience required and exercised
by counsel.

(vi)  The professional character, qualification, and standing of the
attorney.

Assigned counsel shall submit a COUNTY fee claim for that purpose, with all
information requested thereon, only upon completion of the representation, unless
prior court authorization for an incremental billing is obtained for good cause.

All requests for travel, including but not limited to travel time and mileage,
require pre-approval in writing form from the Presiding Judge. Under no
circumstances will travel be paid for absent pre-approval in writing from the
Presiding Judge.

(b) Fees for Counsel Appointed to Represent Indigent Parties in Juvenile
Dependency Proceedings. Court-appointed counsel, other than counsel employed
by a public entity, for a parent or minor in any juvenile dependency proceeding shall
be compensated as follows:

$90.00 per hour
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Counsel accepting appointments in a juvenile dependency proceeding shall be in
compliance with the Juvenile Dependency rules outlined in Rule 3 of the Local
Rules of Court.

Counsel accepting appointments under this rule shall do so with clear understanding
that the court will make an independent determination of the necessity and
justification for hours spent and may reduce a claim for hours found not to be
necessary for the purpose of the appointment or spent on unfounded motions or
procedures. In reviewing fee claims, the court will consider the time spent and
amount claimed with reference to the following:

(i) Customary fees in the locality.

(ii) Time reasonably required for the matter.
(iii)  Difficulty of the defense.

(iv)  Unusual legal issues dealt with.

wv) Degree of professional skill and experience required and exercised
by counsel.

(vi)  The professional character, qualification, and standing of the
attorney.

Assigned counsel shall submit a COURT fee claim upon a form provided for that
purpose by the Court, with all information requested thereon. Incremental billing on
a monthly or quarterly basis following completion of services is preferred.

(c) Fees for Private Court Appointed Indigent Defense Investigators. The hourly
rate the Lassen County Public Defender pays when contracting for investigative
services is Fifty-Five Dollars ($55) per hour.

Investigative services for indigent defense rendered pursuant to court authorization
by the Lassen County Superior Court shall be compensated at the rate of Fifty-Five
Dollars ($55) per hour.

Persons accepting assignments under this rule shall do so with the clear
understanding that the court will make an independent determination of the
justification and necessity for the hours spent and may reduce a claim for hours
found not to be reasonably necessary for the purpose of the assignment.

Indigent defense investigators shall submit a fee claim on a form provided for that
purpose by the Court Administrator, with the signature of the attorney retaining the
services attesting to the validity of the claim, and with all information requested
thereon, only upon completion of the investigation, unless prior court authorization
for an incremental billing is obtained by the attorney on behalf of the investigator
for good cause.
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(Effective 7/1/24, amended 1/1/25)

19.4.1 PRISON APPOINTED ATTORNEY FEES SUPPLEMENT.

This rule serves as a supplement applicable to Prison Appointed Attorney Fees in
Department 5. Any matters not addressed within this supplement will defer to the
relevant provisions in other established rules.

(a) Fees for Private Appointed Prison Defense Counsel. Private appointed indigent
criminal defense assigned by the Lassen Superior Court for Prison Defense Counsel
within Department 5 shall be compensated as follows:

For First Degree Murder defense: $150.00 per hour
For “Three Strike” (25 to Life) defense: $125.00 per hour
For all other Felony defense: $115.00 per hour

For Investigator Fees: $65.00 per hour

For Travel for counsel whose principal office is located outside Lassen County:
$200.00 flat rate per travel necessary to attend court

(b) Guidelines for Billing Purposes. The purpose of these guidelines is to promote
uniformity in billing. The guidelines cannot address all situations. The basic
principles of billing are:

(i) Billing for actual time spent
(ii) Efficient work
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(iii)  Detailed explanations for work performed

Receipts are required for reimbursable expenses.

Multiple cases on calendar shall be apportioned, including wait times between and
amongst the cases. Per diem billing is no longer accepted. The apportionment of
time includes cases where the defendant has more than one case on calendar.

Attorney billing shall account for time in 0.1 hour increments.

(c) Billable and Non-Billable Activities:

1. Billable Activities:

(i) Services performed while Court is in session or in chambers. This
includes time waiting for a case to be called.

(ii) Any out of court activities reasonably required to represent a client.

(iii)  Travel time to and from an institutional facility housing your client
for the purposes of visiting said client.

(iv)  Time to review notes or summaries of a client’s case in preparation
for court dates will be compensated so long as an adequate
description is provided of the work and it’s relation to the court date.
‘File review’ as a description when billing is inadequate.

Counsel accepting appointment under this rule shall do so with clear
understanding that the court will make an independent determination of the
necessity and justification for hours spent; and may reduce a claim for hours
found not to be reasonably necessary for the representation of the defendant or
spent on unfounded motions or procedures.

The Court reserves the right to review and adjust payment for any billed service
or expense determined to be unreasonable or unnecessary.

2. Non-Billable Activities:

(i) Clerical and support staff including preparing proofs of service:
faxing: and filing, copving or preparations of billings. The Court
considers these costs overhead costs.

(ii) Service of documents and subpoenas on the District Attorney, Public
Defender or any other attorney or agency that accepts service by fax,
mail or email.

(iii)  File maintenance: Opening, labeling and storing a client’s file. Some
file related activities such as breaking down discovery and exhibits
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and creating trial notebooks are billable so long as the activities are
specifically described.

(d) Deadline for Filing Claims by Appointed Prison Defense Counsel. The State
Controller’s Office (SCO) Penal Code Section 4750 Manual states in part, regarding
deadlines for submitting claims for reimbursement of prison defense costs,
“Claimants have six months after the close of the month in which the costs were

incurred (PC § 4750(1)) to file a claim. Claims filed after the six-month deadline
will not be reimbursed by SCO.”

PC § 4750(j) states: “No city, county, or other jurisdiction may file, and the state
may not reimburse, a claim pursuant to this section that is presented to the
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation or to any other agency or

department of the state more than six months after the close of the month in which
the costs were incurred.”

With this, the Court requires timely submission of all prison defense related claims.
Any claims submitted outside of a timeframe sufficient for the claims to be

forwarded to the County for filing with the SCO within the deadlines established in
PC § 4750 will not be processed by the Court.

(Effective 1/1/25)

19.5 ELISORS.

Where one of the parties will not or cannot execute a document necessary to carry out a
court order, the Clerk of the Court, or his or her authorized representative or designee
may be appointed as an elisor to sign the document. An application for appointment of an
elisor may be made ex parte. When applying for an appointment of an elisor, the
application and proposed order must designate “The Clerk of the Court or Clerk’s
Designee” as the elisor and specifically name the parties for whom the elisor is being
appointed and in what capacity they are to sign the document. The application must not
set forth a specific court employee. The order must expressly identify the document(s)
being signed and a copy of the document must be attached to the proposed order. The
original document, presented for signature by the elisor, must match the copy of the
document attached to the proposed order. The declaration supporting the application must
include specific facts establishing the necessity for the appointment of the elisor. If the
elisor is signing documents requiring notarization, the applicant must arrange for a notary
public to be present when the elisor signs the document(s).

(Effective 7/1/24)

19.6 PAYMENT PLANS FOR OUTSTANDING FINES AND FEES.
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(a) _Authority to Establish Payment Plans. The Clerk of the Court, or his or her
authorized representative or designee, including but not limited to Collections
department staff, is authorized to review, negotiate terms, and establish payment
plans with any debtor for outstanding fines and/or fees in an adjudicated case.

(b) Payment Plans in Adjudicated Criminal and Traffic Cases. In any criminal or
traffic case where the charges have been previously adjudicated, the Clerk of the
Court, or his or her authorized representative or designee, including but not limited
to Collections department staff may review outstanding court-ordered fines and fees
and place the defendant on a payment plan. Defendants with multiple adjudicated
cases may request that outstanding fines and fees from multiple cases be
consolidated into a single payment plan, wherein payments will be made

consecutively.

(Effective 1/1/25)
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Certification of Qualifications and Continuing Education ............ccccceeeevieeniiieencieeniee e, 75
ContinUING EAUCATION ...c..eiiiiiiiiieiiieiie ettt ettt e ssaeesbeessaeenseesnneenne 74
Qualifications fOr APPOINTMENL..........cecuieriieiiieiieeiierieeteeste et e stteebeesseeebeessaeeseessneeseesnseenne 73
Court Records Management and ACCESS .......ccuveruieeriierieeiiienieeieesiteeteesieeeseeseeeeseessseeseessseenseens 21
Court Reporter
FN 0 15 I L PSR 56
517 1 PSSP 9
Privately Retained Court Reporter Pro TEMPOTe........cccueevuiieiieniieiiieiieeieeeie et 80
Only One Official RECOTA ........couiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieieece ettt beesaae e 81
Payment fO1 SETVICE .....ccuiiiiiiiiicii ettt ettt et e e e et e enbeesnaeenseenenas 82
POLICY ettt ettt e ettt st e beeebeenneas 80
T NS CTIPES ... teeettie ettt e ettt e ettt e ettt e et e e et e e e beeeeaeeeeabaeeessaeessseeessseeesssaeesseeeasseeesseeensseesnsseennnns 82
COUIT SECUTTLY ..ottt ettt ettt ettt ettt sb et st e sbe et e baesbeenaeeane e See Security
L0011 {071 BRSSP P PSRRI 33
Courtroom Decortum and ALIIE .......cc.evverieriieieiieieeterie ettt ettt b e et e b s 7
Criminal
Ancillary Criminal Defense Expenses...........cc..c....... See Ancillary Criminal Defense Expenses
DISCOVETY IMOLIONS ...ttt ettt ettt et e st e bt e st e e bt e eabe e seesabeesabeenbeesseeenseans 15
DiSPOSIION CONTEIENCES ...c..eeuviiuiiiiiiieieriiesttete ettt ettt ettt st sae et ebeesbe et saeenae et 5
LaW & IMOTION .ttt ettt ettt et e s et e et e s et e eabeeeabeenbeesneeenseesneeenseennnas 5
Memorandum of Points and AUthOTIHES.......ccc.eeriiiiiiiniiiiieiiecee e 14
Misdemeanor ATTAIZNIMENLS ........cc.eeeruieerieeeiieeesreeerreeeseteeesreesseeesseeessseeessseesssseesssseessseesssses 5
Payment PLan ........c.coooiiiiiiiioe et e e e 97
Plea in ADSENTIA ....cueeiiieiieiii e See Plea in Absentia
PriSOn PrOCEEAINGES ... .c.veiuiiriiiiiiiietetetee ettt sttt ettt et s sae e 7
REMOLE APPEATATICES ....eouvvieuiiiiiiiiieiie ettt ettt sttt st s et s e see e sare e bt e e b enaeesaneens 37
Time fOr FIlING MOLIONS ....ooiiiiiiiiieciie ettt st aee e eeaaeeenseeenneeas 13
TrIAl REAAINESS ...cooviieiiiiiiiiie ettt e e e e e e e et eeeeeeeseeastaeeeeeeessennnns 16, 19
Criminal Protective OTAETS .......eiiiiiiiiiiiieiieeieee ettt ettt e sbe e st eesaee e b 61
D
D15 o 18 10 1S) 1L A PSPPSR 5
D 1S] o 18 10 1S) 4 LA PSP PURUPSPRURPRRR 5
DS 018 101S) 1 LA PSPPSR 6
DS o 18 10 1S) 1 LA TP PSPPSR 7
Time Requirements for Counsel to Meet with Prison Defendants ............ccccooevieniinenicnnenne. 15
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1G] 018 10 1S) 1 LA TSP 7
1G] 018 10 1S) o LA PP SERUPSRRURPRSR 7
DepartMent ASSIZNIMENIES ........eecuieiiieiieeieertieeteerteesteeseeseeeseessteeseessseeseesssesseessseasseesssesnseessseenns 5
Department of Child SUPPOTt SEIVICES .....eeviieiieiieiiieiieeit ettt 7
DICSS EDCIIVETY ...eeutiieiiieeiieeieeeiie ettt ettt et ettt e st e e teessbe e seeesbaessaeesseenseesnseessseasseesssesnseens 85
DISCOVETY IMOLIONS ...eeiuiiiieiiieeiiee ettt et ee ettt e et e e st eeebeeestaeeessseeessseeassaeeassseessssaesssaeessseeessseesnssesans 15
Domestic Violence Restraining Orders ..........ccueeeeviieiiieeiiieeiiieeieeesiee e sveeesreeesvee e e 6, 16
REMOLE APPEATANICES ....vveeieiiiiieieiiiiee ettt e et te e e et e e e et e e e e sabeeeesnabeeeeesseeeeesnsseeeennnens 39
DIEESS POLICY vttt ettt ettt st be e e sbeebeeenbeenseeenbeenne See Security
E
EleCtronIC FIIINE....coouiiiiieiii ettt ettt ettt e et e st e e beeseees 85
APPECIALE DIVISION ..eiiiiiiiiiiieciie ettt et e et e et e e et eesvaeesbeeesbeeessseeessseeensseeensseeesseesnnns 57
DICSS EDCIIVETY ...ttt ettt sa ettt et st e bt et eaeeees 85
Pilot Project — Limited eDelivery FIlINgS ..........cccveviiiiiiiiieiieie ettt 85
ELISOTS ..ttt ettt et e a e bt et s e e bt et e a e h e et et et e b e en e e ae et enee e 96
Evidence DiSplay SYSIEMS.......ccuieiieriieiieeieeriee et etteeteeteeeteesteessaeesseesseesseeesseessaesnsaessseesseensnas 21
EXRIDIES ..ottt e e e e et e et e et e e ta e e et beeeba e e e taeeetaaeeaabaeeaabaeenaeeeanreeans 19
Attachments t0 DOCUMENTS ........cccuiiiiiiiiiiieeciee ettt e s e e sre e e sbeeesabeeesseeeaaeeesneas 9
Blood or Biological RESIAUE.........c.eiiiiiiiiiiieiieeieee ettt 21
Controlled SUDSTANCES. ... .ceoviiiiiiiiieiieeteet ettt st et sbe e 21
FIT@ATINIS ..ttt et ettt et st e bt e e b e e nbeesateens 21
F
FacSIMILe FILINE ..oovviiiiiiiii ettt 83
APPEIIALE DIVISION ..ttt ettt et st 56
Civil, Probate and Family Law .......ccccooviiiiiiiiiiiiieceeceeee e e e 83
JUVENIIE DEPENACIICY ...veiiiiieeiiie e e e s e e sab e e esee e nseeenseeennns 84
Failure to Appear
JUTY SEIVICE. ...ttt ettt et et e et e st e et e e e nbe e aeeeaseessaeeaseesnbaenseansseenseens 52
Family Law
ALCHIONS 1.ttt h et a e a e bt e h e bttt et h e e bttt h et e et s bt e bt et 6
At ISSUE MEMOTANAUIM. .....eeiiiiiiiiiiieie ettt st e bt e e e e e eaee s 12
Court Appointed Counsel ..........ccceevvveeenneen. See Court Appointed Counsel for Minor Children
Domestic Violence Restraining Orders ..........c.eeecvieeiiieeiiiieeiieeeiieeeieeeeiee e esveeesveeeneeee e 16
EX Parte IMOLIONS ...c.veeuiiiiiiiiiiesiteieee ettt ettt sttt sttt e bt et eaeeees 16
Facsimile (FaxX) FINE......c.oooiiiiiiiiee ettt st 83
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Family Centered Case Resolution PTOCESS ........cccuviieciiieeiiiieeiieecieeeee et 10
Family Law FaCIlItator.........ccccviiiiiiieiiecciee ettt e e e e aae e e e e eeaeeennns 32
FInal JUA@MENT......ocuiiiiiiiiieiiee ettt ettt et e s e teeeabaesabeenbeessseensaens 13
Mediation ........ccceeveeienieneeienieneene See Child Custody Recommending Counseling/Mediation
Notice of Entry of JUA@MENT.........cocuiiiiiiiiiiiieeiieieeieee ettt e e 13
Orders to Show Cause 1€ CONTEMPL......cccuuiiiviiieiiieeiiieeiieeerieeesteeeieeesreeesreeesreeesseeessseeesaseeens 9
REMOLE APPEATANICES ....vveieiiiiiieieiiiieeeetee et ee et te e e et e e s et e e e e sareeessneaaeeeesseeeeeassseeeennnens 39
Status CONTETEINCE ......vieuiieiiiiiiete ettt ettt et ettt et esaaeenbeeeaees 10
ATEIAANCE ...ttt ettt sttt et ettt st nae et 10
COUNSEI ...ttt et h ettt e s h et e st e e bt e bt eatesbe e bt enteeneenseeneenee 11
COUIT ACLIONS ...ttt ettt ettt ettt ettt e e b e bt et esb e e bt esteebe e bt satesaeebeenseeneeseeneenee 12
Pre-Status Conference Requirements ...........cooceeiiieiieiiiiiiieeieee e 10
RECONCIIATION ....viiiiieecieee ettt e et e e et e e e b e e e eareeeesbeeesaseeesaseeennseeennns 10
SUPPOIE CAlCUIATIONS ...ttt ettt ettt e ettt e et e sateenbeesneeenneans 9
SUPPOrt ISSUES PrOCEAUIE......cviiiiiieiiiciieiieceeeeete ettt aae e eneas 31
TIHAL SEEUNES .......ooiniiiieeee ettt e et s e e st e e st eeesnseeesabeeennneeeneeas 12
Family Law FaCIlItator.........ccuiviiiiiiiiieiiecieeiee ettt ettt st et e e estaesbaesnseenseenenas 32
FaxX FIINE .cveeiiiiie e See Facsimile Filing
FEE WAIVETS .ottt ettt e et e e s e e taeeetbaesssaeesssaeesssseesssaeesaseeessseeensseeans 17
G
Guardianship
Appointed Counsel ........... See Court Appointed Counsel in Guardianship and Conservatorship
Proceedings
Gun Violence Restraining OrdeTS.........eieiiieeiiieeiiieeieeeiee et eeiteeeieeesreeesteeesbeeesareeessreesnnseeens 16
REMOLE APPEATANCES ....eeeivieeiiieeiiiieeieeetee ettt e et e e et e e et e e e b e e e beeessaeeensseesnnseeennseesnseesnnes 39
1
In Custody
ATTAIZINIMGIIES ....ivieiiieeiieeiieeiieetee et etteette et eesteeeteesateebeesaaeenseeesseenseessseenseensseenseessseenseennseanseensnas 5
Incompetents COMProOmMISe .........eeevvveeeveeerreeerieeenveeenns See Minor and Incompetents Compromise
J
Judicial Time Off
PrsSONAl TIME ..ottt st b ettt et st b et eae e 88
VACALION ...ttt et e b e st e b e et e e bt e eab e e bt e sabe e bt e eabe e beeeareens 87
JUTY INSETUCHIONS ..ttt et e et e et eestaeeesaeeessaeeessaeessseaesssaeesnseeensseesnnseeans 20

Jury Service
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DULY OF CHUZENS ...vee ettt ettt e et e et e e et eesaseeeesbeeessseeensseeensseeennseeesseeennns 49
Example Reasons for Juror to be Deferred..........ccoeviieeiiiieiiieeee e 51
FaIlUIe t0 APPCAT ....eiiiiieiieeieeie ettt ettt et e ettt e e be e s e sabe e steenbaesaseenseensseensaens 52
Grounds Constituting Undue HardShip..........ccooviieeiieiiiiiiiiiciiceceeee e 49
PriOT JUTY S@IVICE....uiiiiieitiiiiieiiie ettt ettt et ettt e et e et e et e e teesnbeesaessseenseesnseessseensaensseenseen 51
Request t0 DE EXCUSEA ....cuviiiiiiieiie et e e e e e e e enns 49
SUMIMIONS .ttt ettt ettt et e e bt e e bt e e e bt e e s bt e e sabteesabeeesabeeesabeesnneeenas 16
Valid Reasons for a Prospective Juror to be EXcused .........ccovveeciiiieiiiiiniiieeieecee e 51

Juvenile Delinquency

REMOLE APPEATANCES ....eeeevieeiiieeiiieeiite ettt e et e et e e et e e st e e s beeeesbeeessseesnnseesnnseesnnseesnnseesnnes 40

JUVENile DEPENAENCY ......cceeviiiiiieiiieiiecie ettt ettt e eebee s e ebeessaeenbaeesaeebeeesseensaen 6,23
Appointed CounSEl FEES ........ooiuiiiiiiiieiie ettt et 92
CASA e e e See Child Advocate Program
Child AdvOcate PrOZIam ........c.cooiiiiiiiiiieie ettt et 27
DISCOVETY ..evieutieeiiteiie ettt ettt et e sttt e bt e etbe e bt eeabeesseesabaesseeesseenseesssaenseeasseessesnsaensseanseenssennseens 23
Documents Submitted for FIlINg........ccoooviiiiiiiiiiieiiiciieeee et 29
Facsimile (FaxX) FILINE......c.ccoiiiiiiiiiieieeiiece ettt st esbeesteeenbeessaeensaens 84
General Competency Requirements of Counsel............ooceeiiiiiiiiiiiiienieiiee e 23
IMLEAIATION ...ttt ettt et et b e et e et e e ab e e bt e enbe e aeesabeesnteeabeesnbeenbeasneeenseans 23
Minimum Standard of Education and Training ...........ccoceeveriireriieniinenienieneeieseeeeeeeeees 24
Non-Emergency APPLICAtIONS. ......coueeuiriiriieiiirieniteieetenie ettt ettt 29
PROtOS Of IMINOTS . ...ttt st ettt st sbt e e esbeesaneens 29
Procedures for the Review and Resolution of Complaints ............ccoeeveevciieincieeinieeiniee e 26
Procedures to Inform the Court of Further Investigation, Intervention, or Litigation.............. 26
Procedures to Screen, Train, and Appoint AtLOINEYS .......cceeevueerieriieenieeiienie e eee e see e 23
REMOLE APPEATATICES ....eevvieiiiiiiiiiieiie ettt ettt ettt et sttt san e sae e sete e b e eneenaeesaneens 38
SEELEIMENILS ...ttt ettt et e st e et e s et e eabe e et e e bt e snbeenbeesnbeenseeeneas 23
Time Lines and ProCedUuIes............cooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieceete e 23

L

Law & MOtion HEATINES ....cocuviiiiieiiieiiecie ettt ettt st et e st eesbeessaeenseeeneeenne 5

Long Cause HEATINZS ... .cccuieiiiieiieeie ettt ettt ettt et e et e b e e setesbeeesaeenseessneenseesneeenne 8

M

Mediation .........cceeeeiveeeciieeriieeeiee e See Child Custody Recommending Counseling/Mediation

Mental Health Proceedings
REMOLE APPEATANCES ....eeeneeiieiiiieiiie ettt ettt ettt sb e et e e st e s sabeesnteeseareesnneesanee 40
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Minors and Incompetents COMPIOMISE .......eeccverereiieerieeeriieesieeesreeessreeesreesseeesseeessseeesseesssseeens 53
F N 10) 0815 S T SRR 53
Petition for withdrawal of funds .........ccccooiiiiiiiiiie e 53

Motions
APPCILALE ...t sttt ettt e e aaeebe e tbeeabeeeabeebeeesseensaen 55
CAVIL PTOCEAUIES.....ceeueiieiiiieciie ettt ettt e et e et e e et eestaeeesbaeessseeeesseeessseeessseeensseeenseeans 8
DISCOVETY ..ttt ettt e ettt e et e e e ta e e e taeeesaaeeessaeesssaaesssaaeasseeessseeeasseeeasseeennseeensseennnes 15
EX Parte-Family Law .......ccooooiiiiiiiicecee ettt e e e e e 16
IMISCEILANEOUS ...ttt ettt sb et st e bt et e st e bt et sete bt enneeneenees 16
Time for Filing Criminal MOtIONS ........c.cooiieiieriieeiienieeieerite et esieeeree s sreeseaeesreeseneeseessneenne 13
Under Section 1538.5 of the Penal Code........cocueiuiiiiiiiniiiiiiiiieceeeeeee e 14

MOtIONS TN LAMINE.....ccouiiiiiiiiieiiie ettt et etee et e e e e taeeeebeesssaeeessaeessseeesssaeesaseeessseeensseeans 19

N

Notice 0f UNavailability........cccieiiieiiiiiieiieeie ettt ettt et e e seesnteesnseesseennnes 8

INOLICE 10 APPEAT ....eeeveieiiieiieeiieertteeeteertteeteesteeesbeesteeeste e seeesseensseansaessseasseessesnseessseesseesssesnseenssennns 17

P

Payment PLan ........oooiioiii ettt et e nneas 96

o ST s WA o< 15 T I SO USRS 17

Preliminary Hearings
TIME LIMIES. ...ttt ettt e bt et e sbe e st e bt e eabeesaees 8

Presiding Judge
AUTROTIEY Lttt et st b et et b et b et e 86
DIULIES ..ttt et e bt e b e et e et esab e e bt e s ab e e bt e eab e e st e eabeennteenbeenneeeneen 86
General ReSPONSIDIIITIES .......eevuiiiiiiiieiiieie ettt ettt et 86

Privately Retained Court Reporter..........coocvvveeiiiiniiieiiieeeiieeeee e See Court Reporter

Probate
ALCEIONIS ...ttt h et h et e h e et h et e bt bt e bt e bt e e bt e nbb e et e e bt e e b e naees 6
Facsimile (Fax) FINE......c.cooiiiiiiiiie ettt ettt st et e e e 83
REMOLE APPEATANCES ....eeineeiiiiiiieiiie ettt ettt et e et e et e e sabeesnbeeseaseessseesanee 39

Probation
Pre Sentence INVEStIZation .........cciiiiiiiiieiieeeiee ettt et e e e e sabeeeseaeeenreeennseeennes 17
Pre Sentence REPOTES ......cccuiiiiiiiiiie ettt e e e e e naeeeenreeenseeeanes 17

R

Recording EQUIPMENT ........coooiiiiiiiiiiiiece ettt See Security

RECOTAS ...ttt ettt b et a e b ettt e sttt eb e sbe et eaee e 21
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Appellate Electronic Recording..........c.cccccvveviiieiiiieeiiiecieecee e See Appellate Division
REMOTE APPECATANICES ....evvvieieiiiieeeeiiiee ettt et e ettt e e et e e e e tte e e e e etaeeeesnsseeeeensaeeesensseeeennnseeens 33
APPCILALE DIVISION ...eoiiieiiieiiieiie ettt et ettt e st e e bt e sbeesseeesbaeseessseenseesnsaessseanseessseanseens 59
TEICPIONIC ...ttt ettt ettt e et e e st e ebeesabeesbe e saeenseessseenseessseenseennsennne 33
74101 | DO PP P TS O PP POTOPPORPPTPPRRRPO 35
Adoption, Civil, Small Claims, Family Law, and Probate ............c.ccceccveevviiiencieiniie e, 39
CIIMINAL ..ttt ettt et e et e s bt e e bt esat e e beesaeeenbeesseeenneens 37
FRLOMIES ...ttt ettt ettt e et e et e et e e saeeebeenneas 37
Juvenile DEPENAENCY .......cccuieiiiiiiiiiieeie ettt ettt et sttt e e e b nnees 38
Juvenile JUustice ProCeedings..........ccveeiieiieiiieiieeii ettt ettt ete et saaeebe e 40
Mental Health, Contempt, Competency, State Hospital ..........c.ccoceeeviviiiieciiencieiiieeieeieee, 40
A DT [0 1< 1 T ) ¢ RSP 37
Traffic CoUrt TTIALS ...eeeiiie ettt e b e e tb e e eareeeereeenens 36
Traffic INTTACIONS ....viiiiiieeieeee et e e e eab e e etbeeetbeeeaseeeeseeenens 36
WEEDESSES -.nventeitetiete ettt ettt ettt st e bt et h et e e e et e bt eateea e e bt entesaee bt en b e eneenseentesatenneenneas 38
Restraining Orders
DOMESLIC VIOIENCE ...ttt ettt st e bttt esbe et e setenbeenneeneeees 16
(€311 BV A T0) (S s ToL USRS 16
REMOTE APPECATANICES ....vvvieiiiiiieeeiiiiieeeiee et ee e ettt e e e et e e e e eetreeeesssraeeessssaaeeeessseeeeanssaeesennsens 39
S
SEOUITEY 1.ttt ettt ettt et e e et e e st e e et e e e saeeesteeensaeeessbeeansaeeasseeeasseeeasseeesseeennseesnnseennnes 76
DIESS POIICY .ttt e et e et e e e e e s tbe e e et e e e e naeeennreeenaeeennes 76
Recording Equipment Prohibited............cocooiuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiicccceeeece e 77
RESIIICTEA ATCAS ...eeuvieeiiieiie ettt ettt ettt et eat e et e st e et esabe e beesabe e aeeeabeessbeenbeesseeenseens 76
Use of Laptop Computers and Electronic DeviCes ..........cccueeuieriiriiieniieeiienieeeeie e 77
Weapons 1N Court FACIIIIES . ......ccouiiiiiiieiieciie ettt e e 76
Short Cause HEAITNES........eeiiiiieeiiieeiie ettt ettt e et e s e e et e e ssbeeeesbeeennseeessseesnnseesnseas 8
SMALL CLAIMNIS ..ottt e e e e e e e ettt e e e e e e e e e ennarrareeeeeeas 6, See Civil
REMOLE APPEATANCES ....eeiuieieiiiiieiiie ettt ettt et e st e et e et e s sabeesateessaseessneesanee 39
Stipulation
TeMPOTATY JUAZE ...eeiiiiiie ettt ettt et esbee e b e e saaeenseesneeenne 13
SUPETVISEA VISTALION ...eeiuviieeiiiieiiie ettt rtee et e et e et e e et eeestaeessseeeesseeeesseeesseesnnseeenseeennns 67
Duties of Parties and Providers........c..ooiiiiiiiiiiiiiieee ettt 68
B 0TI e) Bl 54 ()4 1 (<) TSR 67
Non-Professional Provider REqUITEMENTS.........cccueeeiuiieiiiiieiiiieeiie e e 68
Professional Provider ReqUITEMENLS..........cecuieriieriieiiieiiieiie ettt 68
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Uniform Standards of Practice for Providers...........ccccuveeiiiiiiiiiciicceeeee e 67
T
TEIEPhONIC APPEATAINCE .....ccuveeiieiiieiiieeiieniieeteeite et esteeeteesteeesbeessaesseesseeasseenssesnseenseeenseesssesseens 33
Temporary Assigned Judges Program ............cccoecuieiiiiiiieniieeiiieie ettt 6
Traffic Infractions
ADIIEY t0 PAY ...ttt e e e e e e e aae e e areeenaeeennes 18
PN 8 ¥ 304 11010 o) 1 LR 5
COUTE TTIAIS 1.ttt ettt e et e et e e st e esbeeseesabeensseenbeenssesnsaensseenseansnas 6
JUVEIILE ...ttt ettt et s e bt e et e e b e e s st e eabeeesbeesbeensbeenbaeenaeenbeennnas 6
LaW & IMOTION ..eiiiiieiiiieiiecie ettt ettt e e et set e eteeseaeesbaessseesseessseensaessseenseessseensaessseanseensnas 5
Payment PLan .......coo.oo ittt e 97
REMOLE APPEATANCES ....vvveeiiiiiieeeiiiiie ettt et ee e et e e e et ee e e eeteeeeestraeeeessaaeeeessseeeeassseeeennsens 36
Tr1al BY DECIATAtION ..ottt ettt ettt et et e et et e e e saee e 21
TT1al DY DECIATATION ...ttt ettt ettt et e et e e bt e taeebeesteeesseessaesnsaessseenseesssesnseens 21
TTIAL REAAINESS.....eeuviieiiieiiiciiieiee ettt ettt e et e te et eesbe e saeesbeesseeesseessseensaessseesseessseenseens 19
CIIMINAL ...ttt et e et e st et e e s teeesbeesseesabeessseasseensaesnseessessseessesnseensnennns 16
Evidence Display SYSTEIMIS. ......cocuiruieiiriiriiiiieierie ettt sttt 21
EXRIDIES 1ottt e et e e e et e et e e e b e e e taeeenabeeetbeeeareeenaeeennes 19
JUTY INSTUCTIONS ...ttt ettt ettt ettt e bt e et e e et e s abeesnteenbeesseeenseens 20
Meet ANd CONTET .....ooiiiiiiiie ettt e et e et e e s beeessbeeeenseeennseeenseeennns 19
MOtIONS TN LAMINE ..eooniviiiiiieiiiie ettt ettt e e et e e et e e et e e sebeeennseeenseeennseeenseesnnns 19
WINESS LISt o.niviieiiii ettt ettt e e et e et e e st e e e sae e e e sbeeessbeeeenbeeennseesnseesnnseennnes 19
U
UNIaWTUL DETAINET ......eueiiiieiiieiieeie ettt ettt et e st e et e s et e eabeesabeenseessaeenseesneeenne 6
W
Ward Of the COUIT .....ooeeiiie ettt ettt ettt e e st e et e s nbeenseesaeeenee 5
Warrants
CLEAT WAAITANTS ....ecuviieiiieiieeiieeite ettt et et e et te et e et e et e e teesabe e steenbeeseesaseasteenseensnesnseennseenseensnas 5
A DT [ 10 1< o ) SRR 17
Writs
Wit Of HADEAUS COTPUS ....veiiiiiieiiieeciieectee ettt e e e e e e e e st e e st e e ssbeeessseeesnseeesseesnnneeennneas 7
Wit Of MANAAIMUS ...ttt ettt et e st e e be e st e e bt e ssbeenseesnseenseennnas 6
Wit Of PTORIDITION....c.uiiiiiiiiiiiiieee ettt et e e e nae e eeneas 6
VA
/070 1 PRSP See Remote Appearances
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APPENDIX OF LOCAL FORMS - BY NUMBER

LASSEN SUPERIOR COURT
LOCAL FORMS
EFFECTIVE JULY-JANUARY 1, 20245

NUMBER | FORM NAME | Revised | Mandatory | Optional
APPEAL FORMS
LSC-APL-100 ‘ Appeal Facsimile Transmission Cover Sheet | 01/23 | X |
CIVIL FORMS
LSC-CIV-025 Delay Reduction Program Notice 07/22 X
LSC-CIV-050 Name Change — Criminal History Assessment 07/22 X
LSC-CIV-100 Statement Requesting Presence of a Court Reporter 07/22 X
CRIMINAL FORMS
LSC-CRIM-025 Plea in Absentia 07/24 X
LSC-CRIM-100 | Petition for Resentencing — Response and Order 07/22 X
LSC-CRIM-200 | Community Service Work Time Sheet 07/23 X
FAMILY LAW FORMS
LSC-FL-100 Family Law Case Management: Status Conference Statement 07/22 X
LSC-FL-101 Family Law Case Management: Settlement Conference 07/22 X
Statement
LSC-FL-120 Declaration of Notice Regarding Request for Ex-Parte Orders 097/242 X
LSC-FL-200 Consent for Court Assignment (Family Law) 07/24 X
JURY FORMS
LSC-JUR-100 Request for Permanent Medical Excuse from Jury Service 04/22 X
LSC-JUR-101 Request for Excuse from Jury Service — Age 04/22 X
LSC-JUR-102 Public Transit Reimbursement Request 01/23 X
JUVENILE FORMS
LSC-JVDP-100 Certificate of Competency to Practice in Juvenile Dependency 07/22 X
Court
MISCELLANEOUS FORMS
LSC-MIS-025 Request for CourtCall Telephonic Appearance 01/23 X
LSC-MIS-100 Research and Copy Request Form 07/23 X
LSC-MIS-200 Request for Appointment of Official Reporter Pro Tempore 07/22 X
LSC-MIS-300 Stipulation for Court Commissioner to Act as Temporary Judge 05/22 X
for All Purposes
LSC-MIS-400 Req}Jest/Notification for Courtroom Audio/Visual Presentation 05/22 X
Equipment

All forms can be accessed on the Court’s website www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

Copies can be obtained from the clerks window at the
Hall of Justice * 2610 Riverside Drive ¢ Susanville, CA
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https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-apl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-apl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-050.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-050.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-120.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-120.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-102.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-102.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jvdp-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jvdp-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jvdp-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-300.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-300.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-300.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-400.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-400.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-400.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/forms-filing/local-forms

Superior Court of California, County of Lassen

APPENDIX OF LOCAL FORMS - BY NAME

LASSEN SUPERIOR COURT

LOCAL FORMS

EFFECTIVE JULY-JANUARY 1, 20245

FORM NAME NUMBER Revised | Mandatory | Optional

Appeal Facsimile Transmission Cover Sheet LSC-APL-100 01/23 X
gthrlilcate of Competency to Practice in Juvenile Dependency LSC-JVDP-100 07/22 X
Community Service Work Time Sheet LSC-CRIM-200 07/23 X
Consent for Court Assignment (Family Law) LSC-FL-200 07/24 X
Declaration of Notice Regarding Request for Ex-Parte Orders LSC-FL-120 097/242 X
Delay Reduction Program Notice LSC-CIV-025 07/22 X
Family Law Case Management: Settlement Conference Statement LSC-FL-101 07/22 X
Family Law Case Management: Status Conference Statement LSC-FL-100 07/22 X
Name Change — Criminal History Assessment LSC-CIV-050 07/22 X
Petition for Resentencing — Response and Order LSC-CRIM-100 | 07/22 X
Plea in Absentia LSC-CRIM-025 07/24 X
Public Transit Reimbursement Request LSC-JUR-102 01/23 X
Request for Appointment of Official Reporter Pro Tempore LSC-MIS-200 07/22 X
Request for CourtCall Telephonic Appearance LSC-MIS-025 01/23 X
Request for Excuse from Jury Service — Age LSC-JUR-101 04/22 X
Request for Permanent Medical Excuse from Jury Service LSC-JUR-100 04/22 X
Req}Jest/Notlflcatlon for Courtroom Audio/Visual Presentation LSC-MIS-400 05/22 X
Equipment
Research and Copy Request Form LSC-MIS-100 07/23 X
Statement Requesting Presence of a Court Reporter LSC-CIV-100 07/22 X
Stipulation for Court Commissioner to Act as Temporary Judge for LSC-MIS-300 05/22 X
All Purposes

All forms can be accessed on the Court’s website www.Lassen.Courts.CA.gov.

Copies can be obtained from the clerks window at the
Hall of Justice * 2610 Riverside Drive * Susanville, CA
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https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-apl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-apl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jvdp-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jvdp-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jvdp-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-120.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-120.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-fl-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-050.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-050.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-crim-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-102.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-102.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-200.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-025.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-101.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-jur-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-400.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-400.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-400.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-civ-100.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-300.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-300.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/system/files/local-forms/lsc-mis-300.pdf
https://www.lassen.courts.ca.gov/forms-filing/local-forms
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